Rib-X taps Mark Leuchtenberger as president, CEO

> Rib-X Pharmaceuticals has announced that Mark Leuchtenberger has been named president and CEO and a member of the board of directors. Susan Froshauer has been appointed to the newly created role of chief scientific officer. Release

> Affectis Pharmaceuticals has named Alex Martin as its CEO. He succeeds founding CEO Herbert Stadler, who is retiring. Release

> PhytoMedical Technologies has tapped James Lynch as its president and CEO. Outgoing President and CEO Greg Wujek will continue to serve as director on the company's board. Release

> Nicholas LaBella, Jr., has joined Insmed as its chief scientific officer, a newly-created position on the executive team. Release

>Cytos Biotechnology's Jakob Schlapbach is resigning from his operational role as CFO of Cytos Biotechnology. A search for a new CFO has been initiated. Release

> George Whitney has joined the Kyowa Hakko USA sales and marketing department as director of business development for pharmaceutical bulk products. Release

> Charles River Laboratories International has announced that Christopher Perkin, corporate SVP, global preclinical services, will leave the company in May to pursue other professional opportunities. Filing

> Emma Walmsley, now "president designate" for GSK's worldwide consumer healthcare, will join the company May 1 as president of the European slice of that business. Story

> Vyteris has appointed Joel Kanter to the company's board of directors. Release

> GeoVax Labs, a biotechnology company that creates, develops, and tests innovative AIDS vaccines, has elected Steven Antebi and David  Dodd to its board of directors.  These appointments bring the number of board members to eight, five of whom are considered independent. Release

> Rexahn Pharmaceuticals has announced the formation of its Parkinson's disease scientific advisory board. The SAB actively will collaborate with Rexahn on the clinical development strategy for its CNS drug candidate, Serdaxin. Chairing the SAB is William Weiner. He will be joined by Kenneth Marek, Andrew Feigin and Fernando Pagan. Release

> PLx Pharma has expanded its CEO advisory group and scientific advisory board with the appointments of two distinguished industry leaders. Patrick Lonergan has joined PLx's CAG and Susumu Okabe has joined the company's SAB. Release

> Biogen Idec says it will appoint Carl Icahn nominee Eric Rowinsky to its board and will nominate another outsider, Stephen Sherwin, which would temporarily increase the number of seats to 13 from 12. Release