Shakeup at Pipex

Pipex Pharmaceuticals announced that Nicholas Stergis, co-founder of the company and vice chairman of the board of directors, has joined the executive management team of Pipex as CEO, replacing Steve H. Kanzer who will continue to serve as Pipex's chairman. Daniel J. Dorman, a director, has resigned and Dr. Charles L. Bisgaier, Pipex's president, has resigned from the company to establish a Michigan-based venture capital group focused on the life sciences sector. 

AP Pharma has appointed Ronald Prentki as its new president, CEO and a member of the company's board of directors. Prentki succeeds Gregory Turnbull, who will remain a company director, a member of the board's executive committee and, until a permanent successor is recruited, interim CFO.

Bioheart named Howard Leonhardt as chief executive. Leonhardt is Bioheart's co-founder, chairman and chief technology officer. He succeeds William Pinon, who resigned.

Nabriva Therapeutics has named Dr. George Golumbeski chief executive officer of the company.

Ceapro announced that president and CEO Mark Redmond is leaving the company effective immediately. Independent director Gilles Gagnon will act as president and chief executive during the search to find a successor.

Arete Therapeutics announced the appointment of James Sabry, M.D., Ph.D., as president and chief executive officer. Dr. Sabry has been a strategic advisor and member of the board of directors since March 2008. Dr. Sabry succeeds Dinesh Patel in the position of president and chief executive officer, who will remain as a consultant to the company. 

Neurobiological Technologies announced that Paul E. Freiman, president and chief executive officer, has announced his intent to retire on December 31, 2008. 

Antares Pharma has appointed Paul Wotton as its new president and COO. 

WEX Pharmaceuticals promoted Kwong Choo to the position of CFO and vice president, finance and administration. He has served as controller since January 2008. 

Intranasal Therapeutics has named Jeff Edelson, MD, as executive vice president, R&D, and chief medical officer. 

The Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation and the Multiple Myeloma Research Consortium announced the appointment of Susan L. Kelley, M.D., to the new position of chief medical officer. 

Agile Therapeutics has announced the appointment of Jeffrey Frick as chief business officer. 

Gemin X Pharmaceuticals has named Peter R. Dolan to its board of directors. 

NOXXON Pharma AG has named Lawrence E. Posner, MD, to its board of directors. 

iCo Therapeutics has added Noel Hall and Dr. Christian Fibiger to its board of directors. 

AspenBio Pharma has appointed Michael R. Merson as a new independent member of its board of directors. 

NanoBio has appointed Daniel B. Dubin, M.D., to its board of directors. 

Zymeworks has added Dr. C. Geoffrey Davis of Angelica Therapeutics and Dr. Mihaly Mezei of Mount Sinai School of Medicine to its scientific advisory board.