Former Genentech CEO Levinson joins Amyris' board

> AVI BioPharma's board has appointed CFO J. David Boyle II as interim president and CEO. The appointment follows former CEO and director Leslie Hudson's resignation. The board plans to initiate a search for CEO candidates, which will include both external and internal candidates. AVI release

> Amyris Biotechnologies announced that former Genentech CEO Arthur Levinson, Ph.D, is joining the company's board of directors. Amyris release

> Sigma Pharmaceuticals says CEO and Managing Director Elmo De Alwis has resigned both positions. He will continue in the role until the board has identified and appointed his replacement. Sigma release

> Sangamo BioSciences has appointed William Ringo as chairman of the company's board of directors effective April 16, 2010. Sangamo release

> Shareholders of Cumberland Pharmaceuticals have elected Gordon R. Bernard, M.D., Jonathan Griggs, and James Jones as new members of the company's board of directors at its annual meeting. Directors A.J. Kazimi and Martin E. Cearnal were also re-elected. Cumberland release

> Richard Ranieri has joined Dendreon as senior vice president of human resources, effective April 19, 2010. Dendreon release

Suggested Articles

Barely two years after paying up $263 million for the ex-Asia rights to BeiGene’s tislelizumab, Celgene is bowing out—to the tune of $150 million.

A University of Pennsylvania team discovered that a protein called TOX helps determine the fate of exhausted T cells in cancer and other diseases.

AstraZeneca is set to spend $630 million on R&D in South Korea over the next five years as part of a wider cooperative agreement.