Eli Lilly names former mayor as communications chief

Eli Lilly named former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson as senior vice president of corporate affairs and communications.

Five Prime Therapeutics has named Julia P. Gregory president and chief executive officer and a member of the company's board of directors.

EGEN, Inc. announced that Khursheed Anwer, Ph.D., has been promoted to president and chief scientific officer. He will succeed Danny H. Lewis, Ph.D., who has retired.

AssureRx announced that James S. Burns has joined the company as its new president and CEO.

Switzerland's Biopartners GmbH has announced the appointment of Dr. Conrad Savoy as its new CEO and president of the board.

Akorn named Raj Rai as interim chief executive officer while the board conducts a search to find a permanent replacement. Rai replaces Jeffery A. Whitnell, who is leaving the company to pursue other interests.

Thallion Pharmaceuticals announced the departure of Dr. Pierre Falardeau from the senior management team and Dr. Halvor Jaeger, F.C.P., from the board of directors. Dr. Falardeau has resigned his position as chief operating officer to pursue other interests and has agreed to act as a consultant to the company to assist in the transition process. Thallion also announced the promotion of Dr. Didier Reymond to executive vice president clinical development.

Astellas Pharma Global Development has appointed Betsy Garofalo as its new global therapy area leader for CNS.

Aptium Oncology has named Paul R. O'Dea to the position of chief operating officer.

Nektar Therapeutics has promoted Lorianne Masuoka, M.D. to the position of chief medical officer.

AMAG Pharmaceuticals appointed Ricardo Zayas as senior vice president of operations.

FoldRx Pharmaceuticals has appointed William E. Aliski as senior vice president and chief commercial officer.

Covance appointed Monte Jarvis as its new vice president of global data management and biostatistics.

ENCO Pharmaceutical Development hired Keith Hurley as vice-president of sales and marketing.

Repros Therapeutics has formed a Scientific Advisory Board. They are: Linda C. Giudice; Bruce A. Lessey; Valerie Montgomery Rice; Alfred N. Poindexter, III; John F. Steege and Robert N. Taylor.

Tobira Therapeutics has added Roscoe Moore Jr., D.V.M., Ph.D., D.Sc. to its Scientific Advisory Board.

Sirius Genomics announced its 2009 board of directors. They are: Dr. James McEwen (Chairman), Dr. Heiner Dreismann, Jim Heppell, Amos Michelson, Dr. Bradley Popovich and Patrick Terry.

POZEN announced the election of Angela M. Larson to its board of directors.

Proteus Biomedical announced that David Lawrence, M.D. has been appointed to serve on its pharmaceutical systems divisional board of directors.

ViroPharma has named Frank Baldino, Jr., Ph.D. to its board of directors.

Savient Pharmaceuticals has named Ginger D. Constantine, M.D. to the company's board of directors.

Suggested Articles

Less than two years after taking the reins from founding chief Rusty Williams, Five Prime Therapeutics’ CEO Aron Knickerbocker is exiting the company.

A Roche compound that was designed to treat rheumatoid arthritis could improve the heart's ability to repair itself, a Vanderbilt team found.

After a whirlwind year and two quick-fire raises, cancer startup Black Diamond Therapeutics has nabbed Yumanity, Merck KGaA and SR One veterans to help head up…