DiNA Awards Recipients Represent Local Influence on International Progress

SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- Two new treatments made available to patients this year will be recognized among the 10 recipients of DiNA™ Awards at the 2010 Pantheon Ceremony on November 4.

Amgen’s Prolia™ and Abbott’s MitraClip System™, both approved in 2010, will receive the DiNA™ for Outstanding Therapeutic and Product Medical Device, respectively. Prolia™ (denosumab), is the first biologic approved for the treatment of osteoporosis, and is unique in requiring injection only twice a year. The MitraClip™, developed by Evalve in Menlo Park, allows for safer repair of leaky heart valves without open heart surgery. Evalve was acquired by Abbott in November, 2009. Both products represent long-term investments in Northern California talent to develop first in class technologies and substantial investments in research and development.

Other 2010 DiNA™ Award recipients include:

  • Solazyme: Rising Star, a leader in algal biotechnology and prominent leader in the alternative fuel industry;
  • Pacific Biosciences: Fast Start, for its game changing technology, offering accessibly priced DNA sequencing to drug developers;
  • Onyx Pharmaceuticals: Outstanding Company, a leader in oncology with a growing commitment to R&D
  • San Mateo Biotechnology Career Pathway: Biotech Educator, for providing high school students and adults with strong biotech foundations and promoting science careers;
  • Bayer HealthCare: Global Reach, for two major investments in the Northern California community since the fall of 2009; and
  • OncoMed Pharmaceuticals: Partnering, for its large discovery collaboration with Bayer.

“A maturing innovation pipeline is the mark of the Pantheon Ceremony this year,” said BayBio’s Gail Maderis, President and CEO. “The BayBio community has an outstanding track record in innovation and this year’s crop of DiNA™ Award recipients reflects the diversity of next generation products and treatments that are coming to fruition to improve the lives of Californians.

In addition to the company recognition, BayBio will once again induct two Lifetime Achievement recipients into the BayBio Pantheon. Dr. Paul Berg, Recombinant DNA pioneer and Nobel Laureate, and Hollings Renton, industry statesman and emerging company champion, and former Onyx Pharmaceuticals CEO, will be recognized for their contributions to the Northern California life sciences community.

Berg and Renton will join BayBio Pantheon inductees from the past five years: Brook Byers, Susan Demond-Hellmann and Dr. Michael Bishop in 2009, Dr. Kerry Mullis and Steve Burrill in 2008, Dr. Thomas Fogarty and David and Alice Schwartz in 2007, Dr. Bill Rutter and Dr. Ronald Cape in 2006, Dr. Herbert W. Boyer and venture capitalist Robert A. Swanson in 2005 and Dr. George Rathmann and Dr. Alejandro Zaffaroni in 2004.


Travis Blaschek-Miller, 650-871-7101 x207
Communications Director
[email protected]

KEYWORDS:   United States  North America  California

INDUSTRY KEYWORDS:   Health  Biotechnology  Clinical Trials  Medical Devices  Pharmaceutical