C&L: Yakatan retires from Grant Life Science

Mercedes Walton has been appointed CEO of Cry0-Cell International. She has served as interim CEO since April 2003.

Grant Life Sciences announced that its CEO, Stan Yakatan, has retired as the company's CEO. However, Yakatan will continue to serve as the company's chairman of the board. Directors Eric Wilkinson and Kevin Crow have been elected interim co-CEOs.

Harmel S. Rayat, a current director of HepaLife Technologies, has been appointed president and CEO. Since January 2002, he has been president of Montgomery Asset Management, a privately-held firm providing financial consulting services to emerging growth corporations. Rayat was also named president and CEO of PhytoMedical Technologies.

Cubist Pharmaceuticals has hired Lindon M. Fellows as senior vice president, technical operations, a newly created position. Most recently he was vice president, corporate quality assurance of Millennium Pharmaceuticals.

Victor S. Sloan, MD, FACR, FACP, has joined Protalex as senior vice president and chief medical officer. Most recently Dr. Sloan was senior director and disease area section head arthritis at Novartis Pharmaceuticals.

Epigenomics announced that Morgan Stanley, as representative of the banking consortium which accompanied Epigenomics' IPO, has fully released Gary Schweikhardt, co-founder and CEO of the company's US subsidiary, from the lock-up-agreement as of January 1, 2006. Gary Schweikhardt will retire at the end of 2005.

Amarin has named Dr. Anthony Clarke as vice president of clinical development at Amarin Neuroscience. Dr. Clarke was formerly senior director, clinical and regulatory affairs at Cephalon, Europe.

Organon Pharmaceuticals USA has named Robert Kaper, MD, vice president, medical affairs. Since January 2002, Kaper has held the position of medical director at Organon Laboratories in the UK.

Pharmasset named Loni da Silva vice president, regulatory affairs and Michael J. Sofia as vice president, chemistry. Da Silva joins Pharmasset from Eyetech Pharmaceuticals, where she was vice president, global regulatory affairs. Dr. Sofia was most recently at Bristol-Myers Squibb as group director, new leads chemistry.

Tanox has named Linda Paradiso, DVM, MBA, vice president of clinical operations and regulatory affairs. Prior to joining Tanox, Dr. Paradiso was senior director, therapy area head for oncology regulatory affairs at Amgen. Serologicals has hired Michael Monko as vice president, sales for the research products segment, consisting of Chemicon International and the Upstate Group. Prior to joining the company, Monko worked nearly 20 years for Invitrogen.

Pam Randhawa has joined Phase Forward as vice president of marketing. Most recently, Ms. Randhawa was director of product development at InfoMedics.

Genentech has announced several organizational changes. Myrtle Potter, president of commercial operations, is transitioning from her current role and will continue with the company as a consultant. Effective immediately, Ian Clark, senior vice president and general manager of BioOncology, is being appointed SVP, Commercial Operations. Clark will be the head of the commercial organization and will join Genentech's executive committee.

Affymax announced the appointment of Philip Haworth, JD, PhD, as vice president of business development. Dr. Haworth joins Affymax from Genencor, where he served as vice president, business development.

CMEA Ventures, a venture capital firm focusing on information technology and life sciences companies, announced that William A. Haseltine, PhD, will join its firm as senior life sciences advisor. Dr. Haseltine is well known as chairman of the board of directors and CEO of Human Genome Sciences.

John A. Norris, MBA, JD, a former deputy chief of the US Food and Drug Administration and currently president and CEO of NorrisCapital and a faculty member of the Harvard School of Public Health has been named to CereMedix' board.

Targeted Genetics has appointed Roger L. Hawley to its board of directors.

Stanley A. Plotkin, MD, has joined Dynavax Technologies' board of directors.