C&L: Stonehouse tapped to run Biocryst

BioCryst Pharmaceuticals announced that Jon P. Stonehouse, has been appointed CEO and a member of the company's board of directors. Stonehouse succeeds Charles E. Bugg, Ph.D., founder and former CEO who previously announced his intention to retire in 2007. In his new role, Dr. Bugg will become non-executive chairman of BioCryst.

Vincent F. Simmon, Ph.D., has joined Xytis as president, CEO and member of the board of directors. Dr. Simmon had been COO of Merrimack Pharmaceuticals previously served as the president and CEO of Cortex Pharmaceuticals.

Nektar Therapeutics has named Howard W. Robin as the company's new president and CEO. Robin will replace acting president and CEO Robert Chess who will remain chairman.

Panacos Pharmaceuticals announced that Alan W. Dunton, M.D. has joined the company as CEO.

Capnia has appointed Joseph J. Vallner, Ph.D., as president and CEO. Dr. Vallner joins Capnia from Cell Genesys where he served as president and COO.

Access Pharmaceuticals announced that Stephen R. Seiler has joined the company to serve as president and CEO and has been named a member of the board. Rosemary Mazanet, MD, PhD, former acting CEO of Access, has been appointed vice-chairman of the board and David P. Luci, C.P.A., has agreed to serve as audit committee chairman.

Aerovance has named Mark L. Perry, currently the company's executive chairman, as president and CEO.

Covance has promoted Luis Gutierrez to the new role of president of Covance Commercialization Services.

Dr. Michael Morrissey, formerly executive vice president of discovery at Exelixis, has been promoted to president of research and development. Lupe Rivera has been promoted to senior vice president of human resources and communication. Dr. Jeffrey Latts, formerly executive vice president of development, has decided to retire.

The Biotechnology Industry Organization has hired Sandra J. P. Dennis as BIO's new deputy general counsel for healthcare regulatory affairs.

Thomas Ichim has joined Medistem Laboratories as its chief of scientific development.

Cerimon Pharmaceuticals has named Daniel Levitt, M.D., Ph.D., executive vice president of research and development.

Ambit Biosciences has named Wendell Wierenga, Ph.D., as executive vice president of research and development.

NovaCardia, has named John E. Crawford as CFO.

Aptuit has appointed Peter J. Adamski as CFO.

ForteBio has named William A. Albright, Jr. as the company's CFO.

PharmAthene has named Christopher C. Camut as vice president and CFO.

ChemoCentryx has named Juan Jaen, Ph.D., to the position of senior vice president, drug discovery.

Idenix Pharmaceuticals has named Douglas Mayers, M.D. to the position of executive vice president and chief medical officer.

China Aoxing Pharmaceutical Company has named Hui (David) Shao, Ph.D., MBA, as senior vice president of finance.

INC Research has named Hans J. Moebius, M.D., Ph.D., as senior vice president of its central nervous system business for Europe.

Pozen named Gilda M. Thomas as senior vice president and general counsel.

Auriga Laboratories has appointed Jae Yu as its vice president of finance.

Takeda Pharmaceuticals North America has named Laurene Bentel vice president of human resources and administration.

Panacea Pharmaceuticals has named Pamela Harris, MD, as vice president medical and clinical affairs.

Hana Biosciences has promoted Gavin S. Choy, Pharm.D. and Alex Tkachenko, Ph.D. In their new roles, Dr. Choy will be responsible for all clinical operations as vice president, clinical operations, while Dr. Tkachenko gains added responsibility overseeing Hana's business development as vice president, corporate development and strategic planning.

Agile Therapeutics has made several appointments: Dr. Gary Shangold, M.D., has been engaged by the company as a senior scientific advisor; Greg Arnold, I.E., has joined the company as vice president of manufacturing and scale up; Bob Conway, M.E., has joined the team as vice president of operations.

Tikvah Therapeutics has named Lou Barbato, M.D., as vice president of clinical research and development and chief medical officer.

Progenics Pharmaceuticals has named Walter M. Capone to the newly created position of vice president, commercial development and operations. Additionally, Nicole S. Williams has been appointed to the company's board of directors.

Urigen has appointed Dennis H. Giesing, PhD to serve as the company's director of product development.

Avalon Pharmaceuticals has formed a clinical advisory board with Brian J. Druker, M.D.; Beverly Mitchell, M.D.; Carmen Allegra, M.D.; Kenneth C. Anderson, M.D.; Otis Brawley, M.D.; Edward A. Sausville, M.D. and Chris H. Takimoto, M.D.

CytoDyn has appointed Shan Lu, MD, PhD, to its scientific advisory board.

Acorda Therapeutics has elected Barry Greene, COO of Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, to its board of directors.

Bradley Pharmaceuticals has elected Leonard S. Jacob, M.D., Ph.D., as its non-executive chairman of the board.

Celgene announced that James J. Loughlin has been elected to the board of directors.

William D. Anderson, former president of Bell Canada Enterprises Ventures, will be joining MDS's board of directors. 

David P. Meeker, M.D., president of the LSD Therapeutics business unit of Genzyme Corporation, has been named to the board of Penwest Pharmaceuticals.

David Mann of Spring Mill Venture Partners has joined BioStorage Technologies' board of directors.