C&L: Somaxon names interim CEO

Somaxon Pharmaceuticals' current non-executive chairman of the board, David F. Hale, has been appointed executive chairman and will become interim CEO effective January 1, 2008. Kenneth M. Cohen has resigned as president and CEO, effective December 31, 2007.

David Stout, GlaxoSmithKline's president of pharmaceuticals, plans to leave the company in February while Chris Viehbacher, president of the U.S. pharmaceuticals division, will join the board at the end of January.

Nektar Therapeutics promoted John Nicholson to chief financial officer, replacing Tim Harkness.

Ceregene has promoted Raymond T. Bartus, Ph.D., to the position of executive vice president of clinical and preclinical R&D and chief operating officer.

ClinPhone has appointed Vincent Renz as chief operating officer.

Quintiles Transnational announced the appointment of John Goodacre as executive vice president and general counsel.

US Oncology named Glen Laschober as the company's new executive vice president and chief operating officer.

Dr. David Stoffel has been named partner at Radius Ventures. Anthera Pharmaceuticals has named Christopher P. Lowe vice president of administration and chief financial officer.

Dendreon Corporation has promoted Mark Frohlich, M.D. to the position of senior vice president of clinical affairs and chief medical officer.

SpectraScience announced that Jim Dorst has joined the company as its vice president of finance and chief financial officer.

Parexel International named Charles Stevens as vice president and general manager of health policy and strategic reimbursement services.

Novis Pharmaceuticals named Lisa Lopez as vice president of human resources.

MacroChem has appointed David Luci as general counsel and vice president of corporate development.

Commonwealth Biotechnologies has named Mark Hober vice president, business development and marketing

Febit has added David Mahoney to the newly created position of director of global intellectual property and U.S. legal affairs.

InNexus Biotechnology announced that Judith James, M.D., Ph.D., has joined its Scientific Advisory Board.

F-star has established a Scientific Advisory Board and appointed three scientists to it: Professor Sir Ravinder Maini, Imperial College, London, UK; Professor Anthony Rees, MIP Technologies AB, Lund, Sweden; and Professor Sir Gregory Winter, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK. 

Professor Alain Fischer will join the Cellectis' Scientific Advisory Board while Alain Godard board as an independent member.

Hershey Center for Applied Research announced that Alan J. Snyder, Ph.D., has been appointed to the board.

Affymax has appointed Keith Leonard and Christi van Heek to the company's board of directors.

Biovail Corporation announced that industry veteran Lloyd M. Segal, CEO of Thallion Pharmaceuticals, has been appointed to its board.

Ambrilia Biopharma has named Jean-Paul St-Pierre, M.D., to the board.

Diamyd Medical has proposed a slate of directors for election. They are: Lars Jonsson, founder and majority owner of Stellar Holding; Christer Hagglund, majority owner of Proffice AB; Sam Lingren; and Anders Essen-Moller, founder of Diamyd Medical.

Oscient Pharmaceuticals has appointed John R. Leone, a Partner at Paul Capital Healthcare to its board of directors.

Michael Kurman, M.D., an independent consultant to the pharmaceutical, biotechnology and health care industries, will be joining Thallion Pharmaceuticals as a new board member. Dr. Sylvie Gregoire has resigned from Thallion's board.

Insmed has named Dennis "Denny" Lanfear to its board of directors.

Donald J. Santel has been named to the board of directors of Arete Therapeutics.