C&L: Senior execs leave Nabi

Thomas H. McLain has announced his resignation as chairman, CEO and president of Nabi Biopharmaceuticals. Henrik S. Rasmussen will step down as Nabi's senior vice president for clinical, medical and regulatory affairs.

The Biotechnology Industry Organization has elected Pfizer Chairman and CEO Jeffrey B. Kindler to its board of directors.

Judy C. Lewent will leave her posts as executive vice president and CFO at Merck after 17 years in the top financial slot.

Douglas Prince is joining MDS as executive vice-president finance and CFO.

Sequenom has appointed Paul W. Hawran as CFO.

Interpharm Holdings has named Peter Giallorenzo as CFO.

Tapestry Pharmaceuticals has named Sandra L. Silberman, M.D., Ph.D., to the position of chief medical officer.

LifeCycle Pharma has named Peter G. Nielsen senior vice president of pharmaceutical development and CMC.

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company has appointed Sandra Leung as senior vice president and general counsel.

Inspire Pharmaceuticals announced the following promotions: Benjamin R. Yerxa, Ph.D. to chief scientific officer and executive vice president, strategic operations; Joseph K. Schachle to executive vice president and chief, commercial operations; Gerald W. St. Peter to senior vice president, sales and field operations.

MedImmune has added two senior leaders to its commercial management organization. The new executive appointments are Jamie Harrell, vice president, infectious disease marketing, and Mark Stanton, vice president, managed markets.

Neurobiological Technologies has named Warren W. Wasiewski, M.D., F.A.A.P. as its vice president of clinical programs.

Phil Sheridan is leaving the economic development team at the North Carolina Department of Commerce and is joining the Carolina Community College System's BioNetwork.

Helix BioMedix has created a Dermatology Scientific Advisory Board. Helix BioMedix's independent advisors include Dr. Zoe Diana Draelos, Dr. Barbara Gilchrest and Dr. Mark Lebwohl.

Structural biologist Roger D. Kornberg, PhD is joining the Epiphany Scientific Advisory Board.

Labopharm announced that Julia R. Brown has been appointed to the company's board of directors and will become a member of the human resources and corporate governance committee.

BioLife Solutions has named Andrew G. Hinson as a director to fill the vacancy on its board of directors created by the resignation of John G. Baust.

INNOVIVE Pharmaceuticals has appointed Angelo De Caro to the company's board of directors and audit committee.

Cobalis has named S. Wayne Kay, Ellen McDonald, and Thomas H. Silberg to its board of directors.

Gloucester Pharmaceuticals has named Donald Hayden as vice-chairman of the company's board of directors.

Encorium Group has named Paul J. Schmitt to its board of directors.

Pipex Pharmaceuticals has named Daniel J. Dorman and Dr. James S. Kuo to the board of directors.