C&L: Pfizer names new CFO

Pfizer has named Frank A. D'Amelio, a senior executive with almost three decades of extensive operating and financial experience at AT&T, Lucent Technologies and Alcatel-Lucent, as its new senior vice president and CFO, effective in mid-September.

Under fire from a major investor, PDL BioPharma CEO Mark McDade says he will quit by the end of the year for personal reasons.

PlaCor has named John Reinke CEO, effective September 4. William S. Haworth has been named chief technology officer and will focus on the continued development of the company's platelet reactivity testing technology.

AEterna Zentaris has named Paul Blake, M.D., as senior vice president and chief medical officer.

EPIX Pharmaceuticals has appointed Margaret Uprichard as senior vice president, regulatory affairs and quality.

Codexis has named Thomas Daussmann, Ph.D., to the new position of vice president and managing director of Codexis Laboratories Singapore.

Quintiles Transnational announced that Hugo Stephenson, M.D., has been appointed as president of iGuard.

Vical Incorporated has named Andrew R. de Guttadauro as vice president, corporate development.

Orexo has appointed three senior executives: Mats Eriksson PhD, VP Research and Clinical Development and Medical Director for Orexo, Christina Ståhl MSc. Pharm, Vice President Regulatory Affairs, and Anne Marie Ciupitu MSc, PhD, Director QA/QC.

Emisphere Technologies announced that Paul Lubetkin has been appointed to the position of vice president and general counsel.

Matthew M. Bennett has joined Ikaria Holdings as vice president and general counsel.

Affymax announced that it has appointed Steven Love as vice president, finance.

MPI Research announced that David Serota, PhD, DABT, was promoted to the position of vice president, toxicology and pathology and will also serve as a member of the company's senior management team. On the same date, Tina Rogers, PhD, DABT, joined the company as the associate director of research.

NeoStem has hired Renee Cohen as vice president of operations and corporate strategy.

Addex Pharmaceuticals announced that Bruno Bournique has been appointed head of absorption, distribution, metabolism and excretion/pharmacokinetics.

Surface Logix has appointed Leland Webster, Ph.D., M.B.A., as vice president, corporate development.

SpectraScience announced that it has appointed Michel Vaudry as its Director of International Sales.

Praxis has appointed Theresa Brodgon as director, business development.

BrainStorm Cell Therapeutics has retained the services of Dr. Andra E. Miller as a consultant to handle the company's FDA interactions.

Genocea Biosciences has named Adel Mahmoud, M.D., Ph.D. and Robert Finberg, M.D. to its Scientific Advisory Board.

Zila today announced that its board of directors has named David R. Bethune as executive chairman

Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals has elected Scott Gottlieb, the former FDA deputy commissioner for medical and scientific affairs, to its board of directors.

Novalar Pharmaceuticals has named Steven J. Semmelmayer to the company's board of directors.  

Phil Gold, C.C., O.Q., M.D., Ph.D., has agreed to join Bradmer Pharmaceuticals' board of directors.

Champions Biotechnology has appointed Dr. David Sidransky to the board

Novelos Therapeutics has named James S. Manuso, Ph.D., to the board of directors..

Adnexus Therapeutics has named Timothy J. Rink, MD, ScD to its board of directors.

Liponex announced that Andrew Rae has resigned as a director in order to concentrate on his responsibilities as president and CEO of iCo Therapeutics.