C&L: Patheon keeps Trecroce as CEO

Patheon has named Riccardo Trecroce as CEO. He was initially appointed as CEO for an interim period in September 2006.

Somaxon Pharmaceuticals has named James L'Italien, Ph.D., senior vice president, regulatory affairs and quality assurance, a newly created position.

LinkMed's portfolio company IMED has named Lotta Ljungqvist as its new CEO and Carl-Gustaf Johansson as its new chairman.

Ipsen has named Eric Drapé executive vice-president, manufacturing and supply organization and member of Ipsen's executive committee.

Amarin Corporation has named Paul F. Duffy as president-U.S. Commercial Operations.

Steven K. Budd has resigned his position as president of the sales services segment of PDI.

DSM has announced the promotion of Wei-Ming Jiang to president of DSM China.

Pharming has appointed Samir Singh to a new position of president, U.S. Operations.

Cytheris has named Bertrand Vannier as its CFO and chief medical officer.

Affinium Pharmaceuticals has added Dr. Barry Hafkin as its chief medical officer.

Peplin Limited has appointed Arthur P. Bertolino, MD, PhD as chief medical officer and vice president, medical affairs.

Christopher W. Krueger, J.D., MBA, has joined Ardea Biosciences as senior vice president and chief business officer; Colin E. Rowlings, Ph.D. has joined as senior vice president of pharmaceutical sciences.

Acceleron Pharma has named Robert Steininger as senior vice president, manufacturing.

PDL BioPharma announced that Bob Savel will join the company as senior vice president of technical operations.

MedImmune has promoted Iksung Cho, to vice president, biostatistics; Anthony J. Coyle, Ph.D., vice president, R&D, and head, inflammation and autoimmunity research; and Barbara White, M.D., vice president, clinical development, inflammatory disease.

BioCryst Pharmaceuticals has named David S. McCullough vice president, strategic planning and commercialization, and Philip P. Breitfeld, M.D., has been named executive director, oncology development and associate chief medical officer.

Averion International has named Glenn E. Deegan as vice president and general counsel.

Angiotech Pharmaceuticals has named Santi Corsaro as vice president, sales and marketing OUS.

Leon E. Rosenberg, M.D., has been appointed non-executive chairman of Hana Biosciences.

BioTrove named Gregory C. Critchfield, M.D., M.S., to its board of directors.

GeNOsys has elected Dr. John P. Livingstone to the company's board of directors.

Commonwealth Biotechnologies announced that Joseph Slay has resigned his seat on the board.

Epiphany Biosciences announced the following six appointments to its board of directors: Charles Sanders, MD, former Chairman and CEO of Glaxo.; Clyde T. Turner, Chairman and CEO of Global Trust Ventures; John Quelch, DBA, MBA, MS, Senior Associate Dean and Lincoln Filene Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School; Paul A. Mieyal, PhD, CFA, Vice President of Wexford Capital; Lee Meisel, MD, MPH, JD, President of Windsor Bay Capital; and Fred Volinsky, MD, Epiphany's CEO, who will also serve as Chairman of the board. A seventh board seat remains to be filled.

Metabolic Research has appointed Dr. Robert Shorr, Ph.D. to the position of chairman of the company's newly-formed Scientific Advisory Board.