C&L: North tapped to run Inimex

Vancouver-based Inimex Pharmaceuticals has appointed Dr. John R. North as president, CEO and director. Dr. North was executive vice president of R&D at Inimex for the past year. From 1998 until 2003, Dr. North served as chief scientific officer at QLT.

Altus Pharmaceuticals has named Sheldon Berkle president and CEO and a member of the board of directors. Berkle was most recently executive vice president of Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals.

Novasite Pharmaceuticals has named Tim Harris president and CEO. Dr. Harris was most recently CEO of Structural GenomiX.

John C. Hodgman has joined Aerogen as president and CEO. Jane E. Shaw, PhD, has resigned as CEO and effective June 30 will resign as chairman of the board; as of that time, Jean-Jacques Bienaime will become Lead Director of Aerogen.

GammaCan International announced that Vered Caplan, formerly the company's director of business development, has been appointed to serve as acting CEO. Dr. Dan Gelvan has resigned from his position as CEO.

Aphton has appointed Manfred Ruediger, PhD, to the newly created position of executive vice president and COO. Dr. Ruediger served as CEO and managing board member of Igeneon.

Midlothian Laboratories announced that Jim Harwick has been named co-president, effective immediately. He will work with Bryce Harvey, co-president of Midlothian, to oversee all aspects of the business. Harwick most recently served as senior vice president of finance at ProEthic Pharmaceuticals.

Ingenium Pharmaceuticals has appointed Michael Grau, Dipl. Betriebswirt, MBA, to the position of CFO. Grau joins Ingenium from Morphosys, where he was senior director finance and accounting.

Micromet welcomes Carsten Reinhardt, MD, PhD, as its new senior vice president, clinical development. Dr Reinhardt joins Micromet from Roche, where he was the International Medical Leader for the Herceptin Program.

Pharmacyclics has hired Geoffrey Cooper, PhD, as senior vice president, business development. Dr. Cooper joins Pharmacyclics from OSI Pharmaceuticals, where he was vice president of corporate development.

VaxGen has accepted the resignation of James M. Cunha, CFO. Kevin C. Lee, a certified public accountant with more than 20 years of experience in finance and VaxGen's senior director of finance, has been named acting CFO.

Arginox Pharmaceuticals has appointed David R. Hathaway, MD, as chief medical officer. Dr. Hathaway has held senior executive positions at Restoragen, a development-stage biotechnology company focused on peptide hormones, and was a consultant to Amylin Pharmaceuticals after its acquisition of Restoragen.

Thomas R. Beck, MD, has joined Dyax as executive vice president, business and product development. Dr. Beck has held an interim management role at Dyax since early this year.

Sylvia McBrinn has been appointed senior VP to head and establish Vernalis US commercial activities.

Cellegy Pharmaceuticals has appointed Frank J. Malinoski, MD, PhD, as vice president, research and development of its Women's Health Operation. Most recently, Dr. Malinoski held positions of increasing responsibility with Wyeth Pharmaceuticals.

Pacific Biometrics hired John Jensen as its new controller. Jensen joins PBI from Utility, where he served as controller and vice president of operations and oversaw strategic planning and finance.

ImpactRx announced two executive appointments: Michael S. Hunt joins ImpactRx as a member of the board of directors and Beth Everett is the company's new CIO.

ProEthic Pharmaceuticals has promoted Wes Heaton, its former national sales director, to director of operations.

Stellar Pharmaceuticals has nominated Robert H. Kayser for election to the company's board of directors.

Eximias Pharmaceutical has appointed Dr. Ruedi E. Waeger, most recently president and CEO of Aventis Behring, to its board of directors.

David R. Bethune has been elected to the Cambrex board of directors.

Frank J. Ryan has been elected to the board of directors of Digene.

Predix Pharmaceuticals has appointed Ian F. Smith to its board of directors.

Reata Pharmaceuticals announced that Charles A. Sanders, MD, has been named to the company's board of directors. Dr. Sanders is the former chairman and CEO of Glaxo.

TranXenoGen announced the resignation of George Uveges as a non-executive director.

Suggested Articles

AbbVie snagged the option to license Harpoon’s anti-BCMA multiple myeloma candidate and the duo added up to six new targets to their discovery deal.

In this week's EuroBiotech Report, Bayer's heart failure drug clears phase 3 test, ABPI calls for more U.K. investment and GHO raises €975 million. 

In our EuroBiotech roundup this week, Azeria raises £32 million, Zealand delays phase 3 readout and Galapagos eyes early 2021 IPF futility analysis.