C&L: Nicklasson gets top job at Biovitrum

Biovitrum has appointed Martin Nicklasson as its new CEO and president. Nicklasson is currently the CEO of AstraZeneca AB. He is also a member of the executive management of AstraZeneca Plc., where as executive vice president; he is head of global marketing.

Hawaii Biotech CEO Leonard Firestone has resigned and vice president and chief scientific officer Carolyn Weeks-Levy was named interim senior executive.

Intranasal Therapeutics has named Peter F. Young as president and CEO. Young was most recently the president and CEO of AlphaVax.

Emisphere Technologies has hired Michael V. Novinski as president and chief executive. Novinski will replace Lewis Bender, who took the position on interim basis in January.

Amarin Corporation has named Declan Doogan, M.D. to the newly-created position of president, research and development. Most recently, Dr. Doogan was senior vice president and head of worldwide development at Pfizer Global Research & Development.

Christopher Waddick, the COO of Vasogen, will also assume the title of CFO, replacing Paul Van Damme, who has left the company. Eldon R. Smith, Vasogen's vice president of scientific affairs, will take the position of chief medical officer and head of cardiovascular development, replacing Jay Kleiman, who is retiring.

Novavax says its CFO, Jeffrey Church, is resigning, just six months after taking the job.

Neuralstem has appointed John Conron to the position of CFO.

Trellis Bioscience today announced the appointment of Bruce A. Keyt, Ph.D. as Chief Technology Officer and Vice President of Research.

Pharsight has promoted Daniel Weiner, Ph.D., to the new position of chief technology officer and added Dana C. Cambra as vice president, research and development.

Xcellerex has named John Chickosky to the newly created position of COO.

BioDelivery Sciences International has hired Al Medwar as vice president of marketing.

Clinical Data has hired James P. Shaffer to serve as vice president, sales and marketing, for the company's PGxHealth division.

Medidata Solutions has added Dr. Hugh Levaux as vice president of product strategy.

Akorn has appointed Shawn L. Silvestri, Ph.D. as vice president, new product development. 

Topigen Pharmaceuticals has named company officers Lisa Nolan, Ph.D., and Mark Parry-Billings, Ph.D., to lead Topigen's business development initiatives and pharmaceutical development activities.

Elan Corporation announced that Dr. Floyd Bloom and Jeff Shames will become new non-executive members of the board of directors.

Bio-Bridge Science has named Trevor Roy and Anthony Cheung to the company's board of directors.

Dr. J. Donald Capra, President Emeritus of the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, has been appointed chairman to InNexus' newly formed Scientific Advisory Board.

Professor and Research Scientist S. N. Chen, PhD of the National Taiwan University in Taipei has joined Metabolic Research as the latest addition to its Scientific Advisory Board.

Icagen has formed a drug discovery and development expert panel, naming Christopher Cimarusti, Ph.D. and Ian Skidmore, Ph.D as initial members.

Transport Pharmaceuticals has appointed Brian M. Gallagher, Ph.D., as director.

Haemacure Corporation has named Joseph A. Akers to the board.