C&L: Memory CEO steps down

Memory Pharmaceuticals says that Vaughn Kailian has been appointed interim president and CEO. Jim Sulat, who has served as CEO since 2005, has decided to step down from this position for personal family reasons and will serve as the company's CFO on a part-time basis.

AVI BioPharma has named Leslie Hudson chief executive officer. He also joins the board as a director.

Mersana Therapeutics announced that Timothy Lowinger, Ph.D., has joined the company as chief scientific officer.

CombinatoRx announced today that Curtis Keith, Ph.D., senior vice president, research and a co-founder of the company, is leaving to accept a position at Harvard University as chief scientific officer for the Office of Technology Development Accelerator Fund.

Cubist Pharmaceuticals has named Dr. Steven Gilman senior vice president, discovery and non-clinical development and chief scientific officer, a newly created position.

Regulus Therapeutics LLC has named Peter Linsley, Ph.D., as chief scientific officer.

WellGen has named Robert Hellauer as chief financial officer.

Spectrum Pharmaceuticals has named Richard Bender, MD, FACP to the position of senior vice president and chief medical officer.

Cephalon announced that its executive vice president, general counsel & secretary, John Osborn, has decided to resign his position with the company, effective March 31.

Cepheid has named Andrew Miller as senior vice president, chief financial officer. He is replacing John Sluis, who retired from the company.

PharmAthene has appointed Joan Fusco, Ph.D. senior vice president of operations.

Sapphire Therapeutics has promoted Suzan Allen to vice president clinical operations.

ACADIA Pharmaceuticals has named John Kaiser as vice president, strategic marketing and commercial development.

AdvanDx has named Else Beth Trautner as vice president of sales and marketing

Nitric BioTherapeutics has hired Joel Lippman, M.D. as general manager of its antimicrobial business.

Koronis Pharmaceuticals has named David Drajeske director of business development.

Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.'s board elected James Cornelius, company chief executive since 2006, as chairman.

Protalix BioTherapeutics has appointed Professor Roger Kornberg to its board of directors.

Chakshu Research has added Dr. Randall Olson, M.D., to its board of directors.

Dutch biotechnology company Crucell N.V. has nominated Dr. Cees de Jong to join its management board.

Anesiva has named Daniel Janney to the company's board of directors.

Trimeris said late Friday that Arthur Cohen and Joseph Healey, the co-founders and co-CEOs of HealthCor Management LP, have been appointed to the company's board of directors.

Isotechnika has named Colin Mallet to its board of directors. 

Alnylam Pharmaceuticals has appointed Edward Scolnick, M.D., to its board of directors and Scientific Advisory Board.

DiaKine Therapeutics has named Dr. Jonathan Lakey to its Scientific Advisory Board.

Altea Therapeutics announced that Dr. Richard Guy, professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Bath, has joined the company's Scientific Advisory Board.

InNexus Biotechnology has added Dr. Ronald Levy to its scientific advisory board.