C&L: Lundbeck CEO resigns early

Denmark's H Lundbeck announced that its president and chief executive Claus Braestrup has resigned earlier than expected.

Critical Therapeutics announced that Frank Thomas will resign as president and chief executive officer. Trevor Phillips, Ph.D., who currently serves as chief operating officer, will become president and CEO as of April 1, 2008 and was appointed to the board of directors.

Indevus Pharmaceuticals CEO Glenn Cooper, M.D. plans to retire on or prior to September 1.

Kosan Biosciences Incorporated announced that Robert Johnson, Jr., M.D., Ph.D., has resigned as president and CEO. Helen S. Kim, who joined Kosan in January 2008 as senior vice president and CBO, has been appointed president of Kosan.

Tercica has named Chief Operating Officer Richard King to the additional role of president.

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company announced that the company's board has elected Jean-Marc Huet senior vice president and chief financial officer.

Aldagen has hired David Carberry as chief financial officer.

Momenta Pharmaceuticals has named James Roach, M.D., chief medical officer and senior vice president of development.

Maxygen says that Grant Yonehiro, its senior vice president in charge of global business development and U.S. operations, has been appointed to the position of chief business officer. In addition, the company announced the pending departure of Michael Rabson, Maxygen's general counsel since 1999.

Vitae Pharmaceuticals has appointed Richard Gregg, M.D. as chief science officer.

ZIOPHARM Oncology has appointed Steven Bloom as vice president, business development and Barry Jones, Ph.D., as senior vice president, preclinical operations.

Targanta Therapeutics has hired Mona Haynes as chief commercial officer and Daniel Char as vice president and general counsel.

Antares Pharma has named Kaushik Dave as vice president of clinical and regulatory affairs.

Catalyst Pharma has appointed Patrick Kenny as director--corporate clinical compliance.

WaferGen Biosystems has promoted Kumar Kastury, Ph.D., to vice president of assay development and John McEntee to associate vice president of engineering.

Modigene has named Phillip Frost, M.D., chairman of its board of directors.

Numira Biosciences announced the appointment of Paul Grint, M.D., to its board of directors.

Progen Pharmaceuticals has appointed John Lee and Robert Williamson to the company's board as independent non-executive directors.