C&L: Kirkman tapped to run Biomira

Canada's Biomira has named Robert L. Kirkman--formerly acting president and chief executive of biopharmaceutical company Xcyte Therapies--as president and chief executive.

Applied NeuroSolutions has appointed Ellen R. Hoffing as its president and CEO and a member of its board of directors, replacing John DeBernardis, Ph.D. who announced his intent to step down as CEO on July 19, 2006.

Sapphire Therapeutics has appointed Herbert Conrad as president and CEO, added Bruce Peacock to the board of directors, and promoted William Mann to vice president, corporate development.

Alain Huriez MD has been named as the TcLand's new chairman and CEO. Furthermore, two new board members have been appointed: Elisabeth Hubert MD, a former French Health Minister and ex-CEO of Fournier Laboratories France, and Marc de Garidel, president, Amgen South Western Europe and vice-president of EBE.

Steven Getraer has been appointed as chief executive officer of Kirk Pharmaceuticals, a subsidiary of Synovics.

Crosslink has named Charles (Chuck) Jongeward as its chief executive officer.

Genelabs Technologies said CFO Matthew Loar will leave the company on Sept. 1 to accept a position at a newly public biotechnology company. Genelabs Chief Executive Officer James Smith will assume Loar's responsibilities until a new CFO is named.

Connetics has changed John Higgins' title to executive vice president of corporate development, dropping CFO from his job description. Higgins will focus on corporate development only.

Portola Pharmaceuticals has named Mardi Dier to the position of chief financial officer.

Genesis Bioventures has named Mark A. Franzen, CPA, as its chief financial officer.

Seaside Therapeutics has appointed Timothy D. Ocain, Ph.D., to the position of senior vice president, research & development.

Cephalon has named Dr. Lesley Russell MB.Ch.B, MRCP as senior vice president, worldwide medical and regulatory operations.

Avidia has named Jose-Carlos Gutierrez-Ramos, Ph.D., as senior vice president, research and non-clinical development and chief scientific officer.

Bionest Partners has appointed Lionel Delaporte as director and head of the pharmaceutical practice.

Holmes Biopharma has named Robert J. Schwab, MD as principal investigator for its clinical pharmacology division in Omaha, Nebraska

Patricia Contreras, Ph.D., MiRa Huyghe, Sharon Platt and Karen Valentino, Ph.D. have joined Conatus Pharmaceuticals.

IsoTis S.A. named Gene Reu as vice president of operations.

John Frenz, Ph.D. has joined GlobeImmune as vice president of operations.

Caliper Life Sciences has appointed Dr. Peter Lassota as the divisional vice president of oncology.

Ondine Biopharma has appointed Thomas G. Leonardi as vice-president, sales and marketing. 

Targanta Therapeutics has named Gayle Crick Fischer as vice president of marketing; Roger Miller as vice president, operations and manufacturing; William C. Vladuchick, Ph.D. as vice president, strategic development; and Margaret M. Wasilewski, M.D., vice president, clinical development and medical science team leader.

Recordati has appointed Dr. Andrea Breschi to the position of general manager pharmaceuticals Italy.

Dr. Rich Meyer has joined AnaSpec as research and development manager.

Anthony Boone will join Protox Therapeutics as director of investor relations and corporate communications.

MTM Laboratories has appointed Dr Felix Dross and Jan Wauters directors, marketing and sales.

Dorothy Bray, Ph.D., representing ImmunoClin Ltd, has joined the ReceptoPharm Scientific Advisory Board.

Newly formed Zogenix named founder Cam L. Garner as chairman of its board of directors.

Sequenom has named Paul W. Hawran to the company's board of directors as chair of the audit committee.

Cardica has appointed Jeffrey L. Purvin to its board of directors.

Inyx has elected two new outside directors--Roger G. Harrison, Ph.D. and Peter Littmann, Ph.D.--to its board.