C&L: Engle takes helm at XOMA

Xoma has named Steven B. Engle president, CEO and a member of the company's board of directors. Engle succeeds Jack Castello, the company's former president and CEO, who announced his retirement plans earlier this year.

Semafore Pharmaceuticals has named Edward L. Jacobs president and CEO, replacing interim CEO John Sima.

Ernest Mario, the former CEO of Glaxo Holdings and Alza has joined Capnia as chairman and CEO.

Tobira Therapeutics has named James Sapirstein as CEO and president.

Richard A. Gonzalez, president and COO, and a member of Abbott Laboratory's board of directors, plans to retire after a 30-year career with the company.

Barr Pharmaceuticals announced the resignation of Paul Bisaro, president and COO.

The Tech Council of Maryland/MdBio named Ric Zakour to lead MdBio and MdBio Foundation.

NeurAxon has named Robert Medve, M.D., to the newly created position of chief medical and regulatory officer of the company.

Tikvah Therapeutics has named Nathan Andrew Shapira, M.D., Ph.D. as executive director of clinical research and development and deputy chief medical officer.

Ablynx has appointed Dr Josefin-Beate (Josi) Holz, as its first chief medical officer.

AMAG Pharmaceuticals has named Lee Allen as the chief medical officer and senior vice president of clinical development.

PPD announced Susan Atkinson, Ph.D., has been promoted to senior vice president of global biostatistics and data management.

PTC Therapeutics has named Theresa Natalicchio senior vice president of marketing and sales.

Metabolex has hired Charles A. McWherter, Ph.D., as senior vice president, research and preclinical development.

San Diego-based BioDuro has named Steven M. Hutchins as vice president of business development and collaboration management.

IntelGenx Technologies has appointed James Wittenberg, R.Ph., M.S., as the company's vice president of business development.

Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice has named Nina V. Fedoroff, a long-time member of the board of directors of Sigma-Aldrich Corporation, to be her new Science and Technology Adviser.

Avalon Pharmaceuticals has named Bradley G. Lorimier as chairman of the board of directors. He succeeds Alan G. Walton, Ph.D., D.Sc., who will stay on as a director.

Immunomedics announced that Dr. Edward T. Wolynic has been appointed to the company's board of directors.

Homer L. Pearce, a retired distinguished research fellow and former Lilly vice president of cancer research and clinical investigation, joined the Kylin board of directors.

pSivida Limited announced the appointment of Dr. Katherine Woodthorpe based in Sydney, Australia as a non-executive director of the company.

BioLineRx has appointed Tamar Howson, Gil Bianco and Ilan Leviteh to the company's board of directors.

Simcyp has named Malcolm Rowland from the University of Manchester as chairman of its scientific advisory board.

OrthoLogic has formed a Scientific Advisory Board with the appointments of Michael E. Mendelsohn, M.D. of Tufts-New England Medical Center and Charles A. Dinarello, M.D. of University of Colorado School of Medicine.

BrainStorm Cell Therapeutics has appointed Dr. Jacob Frenkel and Harvey Krueger as members of the company's advisory board.

Suggested Articles

AbbVie snagged the option to license Harpoon’s anti-BCMA multiple myeloma candidate and the duo added up to six new targets to their discovery deal.

In this week's EuroBiotech Report, Bayer's heart failure drug clears phase 3 test, ABPI calls for more U.K. investment and GHO raises €975 million. 

In our EuroBiotech roundup this week, Azeria raises £32 million, Zealand delays phase 3 readout and Galapagos eyes early 2021 IPF futility analysis.