C&L: Dr. John Mendlein tapped to run Compound

Compound Therapeutics announced today that Dr. John Mendlein has been appointed CEO. Compound Therapeutics' founding CEO, Dr. Frank Lee, will continue at the company as chairman of the board, and Dr. L. Patrick Gage, former executive chairman, transitions to non-executive director. Dr. Mendlein had been chairman and CEO of Affinium Pharmaceuticals.

TransMolecular has named E. Michael Egan as CEO. Egan served most recently as senior vice president of commercial development for GenVec.

Symbollon Pharmaceuticals has promoted Paul C. Desjourdy to the position of CEO. Desjourdy has previously served as president, COO and CFO of the company.

Thomas Schreck has been named CEO of Iken Tissue Therapeutics. Schreck held various investment banking positions in the San Francisco Bay Area and London, including at Montgomery Securities and Manufacturers Hanover Limited.

Momenta Pharmaceuticals has split the roles of chairman and CEO, naming Peter Barrett, PhD, a board member since May 2003, as chairman. Alan Crane will remain president and CEO.

Kurt Gilson has resigned as Kinetics' CEO and a member of its board of directors, J. Gordon Beittenmiller, has been named the company's new CEO. Beittenmiller joined Kinetics earlier this year as president and CFO after serving over eight years at Comfort Systems USA.

Enzon Pharmaceuticals has promoted Craig Tooman to executive vice president finance and CFO. Tooman joined the company in January 2005 as executive vice president of strategic planning and corporate communications.

Helix BioPharma has named Frank Michalargias as CFO. Michalargias replaces Ken Cawkell, a member of the company's board, who has served as interim CEO since last summer.

NicOx announced that Dr. Ali Raza has been appointed head of research and development. Dr. Raza's most recent position was head of clinical development and regulatory affairs at Renovo.

Immtech International has hired Dolores Kapral for the newly-created position of director of clinical operations. Kapral had worked for Abbott Laboratories for 11 years, four of which were as a clinical project manager.

Edot.com announced that Krishna Menon joined the company's scientific advisory board and accepted the position of chief regulatory officer. Dr. Menon is a former employee of the year President's award winner at Eli Lilly.

Avera Pharmaceuticals has appointed Joao Siffert, MD, as vice president, clinical research and development. Dr. Siffert joins Avera from Pfizer, where he was employed as a medical director since 2002.

King Pharmaceuticals has appointed Eric J. Bruce as the company's corporate head, technical operations.

ArQule has named Dr. Ronald M. Lindsay to its board of directors.

Isolagen named Stephen J. Fanning, president and CEO of Thermage, to its board.

Sciona named Roy Whitfield to its board of directors and appointed him chairman of the company's science and business advisory board.

Inspire Pharmaceuticals elected Alan F. Holmer to its board.

Ciphergen Biosystems named James S. Burns, president and CEO of EntreMed, to its board.

MOCON has named Robert F. Gallagher to its board of directors.

ImmuneRegen BioSciences has named Moshe Arditi, MD, as senior advisor to its recently established Bioterrorism Preparedness Advisory Board.