C&L: Biotech vet takes helm at AerovectRx

AerovectRx has named biotech veteran Ed Cannon as its new CEO.

Pfizer said Vice Chairman David L. Shedlarz will retire from the company at the end of this year after a 31-year career at the drug giant.

Sequoia Pharmaceuticals has named Steven D. Skolsky as its president and CEO. He will also serve as a member of the board of directors.

BioReliance Corporation appointed its executive chairman, Charles C. Harwood, Jr., to the additional post of Interim CEO, following the announced resignation of Tim Derrington from the CEO position.

Aileron Therapeutics announced that Tomi K. Sawyer, Ph.D., has joined the company as chief scientific officer.

AxoGen has promoted Karen Zaderej to the newly created position of COO.

Genelabs Technologies has appointed Frederick Driscoll as its CFO.

Immunosyn appointed G. David Criner as chief financial and accounting officer

OncoMed Pharmaceuticals has named William D. Waddill to the position of senior vice president and CFO.

Teva Pharmaceuticals announced that CFO Dan Suesskind is scheduled to retire in mid-2008.

Xencor has named Jeffrey D. Bloss, M.D., F.A.C.O.G., as chief medical officer.

Elixir Pharmaceuticals announced Paul M. Martha, M.D. has been named to the newly-created position of chief medical officer

Aerovance has promoted Anthony M. Rimac to vice president and CFO.

Cannasat Therapeutics announced that George Nomikos, former scientific director at Amgen, has been appointed as senior director, scientific affairs.

Mylan has named Joseph F. Haggerty as senior vice president and global general counsel.

Savient has named Peter Clarke, Ph.D., to the newly-created position of vice president, manufacturing.

Altus Pharmaceuticals announced that Alexey L. Margolin, Ph.D., will retire at the end of 2007 from his position as senior vice president, research and pre-clinical development and chief scientific officer. Going forward, Dr. Margolin will continue his relationship with Altus as a scientific advisor.

Serentis has appointed Peter Keen as corporate development and finance director.

NanoBio has hired Joyce Sutcliffe, Ph.D., as vice president of research.

NPS Pharmaceuticals announced today the appointment of Douglas N. Dobak as vice president, regulatory affairs and drug safety.

PharmaNet Development Group announced that on October 22, 2007 Jack Levine resigned as chairman and member of the board of directors and David Lucking resigned as a member of the board of directors. As a result, the board of directors has appointed Peter Tombros, currently an independent member of the board, as chairman.

DARA BioSciences announced that current Director, President and CEO Richard A. Franco, Sr. has been appointed chairman of the board of directors.

BioVex has appointed Jan van Heek, age 58, as chairman of the board of directors.

Prostrakan announced that Peter Allen, a non-executive director since 2005, is to succeed Harry Stratford as chairman after Stratford retires at the end of this year.

Momenta Pharma has appointed Elizabeth Stoner to its board of directors.

Anthera Pharmaceuticals has appointed Donald J. Santel to its board of directors.

Novocell has named Orville G. Kolterman, M.D., senior vice president, clinical & regulatory affairs of Amylin Pharmaceuticals, to the company's board of directors.

DIREVO Biotech AG has named four new supervisory board members following the successful closing of a series C financing of €12 million. The new members of the board are: Dr. Simon G. Best; James C. Gale; Dr. Leif Kjærgaard and Prof. Dr. Detlev H. Riesner.