Alkermes' Pops once again takes up CEO reins

Alkermes Chairman Richard Pops is returning to his posts as president and CEO. David Broeker recently resigned. Alkermes release

For the first time in 146 years Bayer has reached outside the company for a new CEO, naming Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.'s Marijn E. Dekkers to succeed Werner Wenning. Bayer's release

Thermo Fisher Scientific responded to the departure by promoting COO Marc N. Casper as president and chief executive officer. Release

In a broad restructuring, Eli Lilly named the leaders of its Development Center of Excellence and its five business units: oncology, diabetes, established markets, emerging markets, and Elanco animal health. Tim Garnett, M.D., and Tom Verhoeven, Ph.D., will lead the Development Center of Excellence within Lilly Research Laboratories. John H. Johnson will lead the oncology business unit. Enrique A. Conterno will lead the diabetes business unit. Bryce D. Carmine will lead the established markets business unit. Jacques Tapiero will lead the emerging markets business unit. Jeffrey N. Simmons will lead Elanco. Release

iBio has named Frederick Larcombe to the position of chief financial officer. Release

InteKrin Therapeutics announced that Linda Slanec Higgins, PhD has been named chief operating officer. Release

Sucampo Pharmaceuticals named James J. Egan as chief operating officer, Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, a newly-created position. Sucampo also announced that Stanley G. Miele was promoted to president of Sucampo Pharma Americas and David Dodds was promoted to president of Sucampo Pharma Europe. Release

AVEO Pharmaceuticals announced the appointment of William J. Slichenmyer, M.D., Sc.M., to the position of chief medical officer. Release

Pozen has named Elizabeth Cermak as its chief commercial officer. Story

GENova Biotherapeutics has appointed Dr. Philip Gould as a member designate of its Scientific Advisory Board. Release

BioNanomatrix says that Dr. Charles Lee and Dr. David L. Barker have joined the company's advisory team. Release

Caraco Pharmaceutical Laboratories announced that the board appointed F. Folsom Bell to fill the vacancy resulting from the decision by John D. Crissman not to stand for re-election at the 2009 annual meeting of shareholders. Release

Myriad Pharmaceuticals announced that it has elected Timothy R. Franson, M.D. to its board of directors. Release

Ironwood Pharmaceuticals named Facebook CFO David Ebersman to the company's board of directors. Release

BioCurex has appointed Dr. Denis Burger and Dr. Jim Walsh to its board of directors. Release

Hovione elected Terry Lambe, Ph.D., to its board of directors. Release

The former Epix Pharmaceuticals CEO Elkan Gamzu has been named chairman of its board of directors at Hygeia Therapeutics. Story