Panacea CEO exits the stage

Stephen Keith has left his post as president and COO of the struggling Panacea Pharmaceuticals. He's going to head the American College of Pharmacology. Story

Thomas Lynch is stepping down as CEO of Amarin and will continue on as chairman. Declan Doogan, Amarin's head of research and development, has agreed to assume the role of Interim CEO. Report

OXiGENE reported that CEO John Kollins resigned from his position with the company and as a member of the board of directors in order to pursue other interests. Peter Langecker, executive vice president and chief development officer, will serve as interim CEO while the company conducts a search for a permanent replacement. Release

Sinclair Pharma has named Christopher Spooner as its chief executive officer. Spooner will replace Michael Flynn when he retires. Report

Catalyst Pharmaceutical Partners has extended the term of CEO Patrick J. McEnany's employment agreement with the company for an additional two years. The company also announced that Steven R. Miller, Ph.D. and Jack Weinstein will assume expanded responsibilities: Dr. Miller, currently Catalyst's vice president, pharmaceutical development and project management, will assume additional duties as Catalyst's chief scientific officer; and Weinstein, currently Catalyst's vice president, treasurer and chief financial officer, will assume formal responsibility for Catalyst's business development activities. Release

Resverlogix Corp. announced that A. Brad Cann, CA will be joining the firm on October 26 as its chief financial officer. Release

Seaside Therapeutics LLC has added three executives. They are: Daniel E. Geffken, chief operating officer, John C. Amedio, Jr., Ph.D., vice president, manufacturing and process development and W. Roger Rush, Ph.D., as vice president, preclinical development. Release

CytRx Corporation announced that Daniel Levitt, MD, Ph.D., has joined the company as chief medical officer. Release

Transdel Pharmaceuticals, has named Joachim P.H. Schupp, MD as its chief medical officer. Release

Takeda San Francisco, Inc. announced that Michael Buckley, Ph.D., has joined the company as vice president of process sciences. Release

CMC Biologics A/S has named David Wolton, VP manufacturing.  During his 23 year biotech career, Wolton has held positions with Elan, Wyeth and Lonza. Release

RetroVirox has named Ronald C. Griffith, Ph.D. as vice president of research and development. Release

Aureon Laboratories has hired David Brown as vice president of sales. Release

aTyr Pharma announced today that Dr. Floyd Bloom of the Scripps Research Institute has joined their scientific advisory board. Release

Cornerstone Pharmaceuticals announced that cancer research scientist Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D., a founding member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and a professor of biology at MIT, has joined the company's Scientific Advisory Board. Release

Dendreon has named two well-known pharma industry figures to its board. Ian Clark, the chief executive of Genentech, and Granadillo, formerly head of manufacturing at Eli Lilly, have joined the board. Release

Questcor Pharmaceuticals has appointed Gregg Lapointe to its board of directors. Lapointe is currently CEO of Sigma-Tau Pharmaceuticals. Release

Soligenix announced that Robert J. Rubin, MD, has been appointed to its board of directors. Release

Apthera has named Ira Z. Leiderman and Dr. Mary Ann Gray to the Apthera board as independent directors. Leiderman was named as its executive chairman. Release

Synergy Pharmaceuticals appointed Alan F. Joslyn, Ph.D., as a director of the company. In addition, the board appointed Dr. Joslyn as chairman of the corporate governance/nominating committee.  Release