Merck vaccines chief steps down

Merck announced that vaccines chief Margaret McGlynn will be retiring.

Cardiome Pharma announced the appointment of Doug Janzen as CEO.

Novo Nordisk announced the appointment of Per Falk, M.D., Ph.D., as vice president, North American clinical, medical and regulatory affairs.

Ambrilia Biopharma announced the departures of Dr. Philippe Calais, president and CEO, and Monique Letourneau, executive vice president, finance and CFO.

EXACT Sciences Corporation has appointed Graham Lidgard as chief scientific officer.

Bioniche Life Sciences's announced the resignation of Chief Financial Officer, Patrick Montpetit.

Benitec Limited has appointed Dr. Peter French as chief scientific officer.

Diana Hausman has been named Oncothyreon's vice president of clinical development.

Bruce Beutler has joined aTyr Pharma's scientific advisory board. 

NovaBay Pharmaceuticals has named Roy J. Wu as senior vice president, business development.

Cephalon has appointed Craig C. Phillips as vice president and general manager, oncology.

Jon S. Saxe has been appointed as chairman, board of directors of SciClone Pharmaceuticals.

PDL BioPharma has elected Barry Selick to its board of directors.

Novogen Limited has accepted the resignation of Peter B. Simpson as a director of the company.

James W. Fordyce has been named to Ore Pharmaceuticals's board of directors.

Gilead Sciences has promoted Gregg H. Alton to vice president, corporate and medical affairs and elected Kevin E. Lofton to its board of directors.

Gerald P. Belle has joined PDI as lead independent director.

EKR Therapeutics announced the appointment of Dave Iwanicki as senior vice president, corporate development.

DiaMedica announced the departure of Reggie Bowerman as president and CEO. Rick Pauls, chairman of the board of directors, has been elected acting president and CEO.

GVK Biosciences announced the appointment of Gerhard N. Mayr to its board of directors.