The Jackson Laboratory Professor John Eppig Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The Jackson Laboratory Professor John Eppig Elected to National Academy of Sciences


May 3, 2011 Bar Harbor, Maine — Professor John Eppig, Ph.D., a pioneer in developmental and reproductive biology, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the top honors in American science.
Since joining The Jackson Laboratory in 1975, Eppig has made significant insights in the development of eggs in mice and other mammals. His research successes include achieving the first complete in vitro development of mammalian oocytes into a complete organism, the famous mouse known as "Eggbert."

His work has contributed substantially to in vitro fertilization and other reproductive technologies that are helping infertile women in clinics today.

Eppig is among 72 new National Academy members and 18 foreign associates from 15 countries named today in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. He joins Jackson Professor Emeritus Douglas Coleman, Ph.D., who has subsequently been awarded the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine and the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award. The late Elizabeth "Tibby" Russell was also a member.

Eppig received the news today while working at home on a presentation. "I was totally stunned," he said. "It's a tremendous honor to know that what you've done has been recognized by top scientists around the world."

Eppig's many other honors include the Pioneer in Reproduction Research Lectureship Award from the Frontiers in Reproduction Research Program and the Carl G. Hartman Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Society for the Study of Reproduction.

The Jackson Laboratory is a nonprofit biomedical research institution and National Cancer Institute-designated Cancer Center based in Bar Harbor, Maine. Its mission is to discover the genetic basis for preventing, treating and curing human diseases, and to enable research and education for the global biomedical community. 

Suggested Articles

Three years after Bayer and gene-editing biotech CRISPR Therapeutics joined forces to launch and run Casebia Therapeutics.

Fresh off Tilos Therapeutics’ $773 million sale to Merck, Barbara Fox is taking the helm of another Cambridge-based company: Rheos Medicines.

The data tee Seattle Genetics up to file for FDA approval of a TKI inhibitor it paid $614 million to acquire last year.