Forest Laboratories and Allergy Asthma Research Institute Join SAFE-BioPharma Association

FT. LEE, N.J.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--In a move to improve efficiency by reducing paper in their respective operations, Forest Laboratories (NYSE: FRX) and the Allergy Asthma Research Institute have joined SAFE-BioPharma Association. They now have access to the SAFE-BioPharma® digital identity and signature standard, used throughout the biopharmaceutical industry to verify and manage digital identities involved in electronic transactions and to apply digital signatures to electronic documents.

Forest Laboratories, headquartered in Manhattan, has well-established franchises in the central nervous system and cardiovascular therapeutic areas. The Allergy Asthma Research Institute, based in Waco, is the premier center for allergies, asthma and respiratory disorders in central Texas.

Participation in the SAFE-BioPharma standard provides access to SAFE-BioPharma interoperable digital identity credentials, a form of software installed on a computer, cell phone or other device which establishes a close link with the user's proven identity and allows for the application of legally binding, digital signatures to electronic documents. SAFE-BioPharma digital identity credentials are trusted within US federal agencies and in other industries. SAFE-BioPharma digital signatures are recognized by regulatory agencies throughout the U.S. and Europe.

"Forest Laboratories and the Allergy Asthma Research Institute are streamlining their systems by shifting to interoperable digital identities and digital signatures. We welcome them to the growing SAFE-BioPharma cyber-community," said Mollie Shields-Uehling, president and CEO, SAFE-BioPharma Association.


SAFE-BioPharma® was developed by a non-profit consortium of biopharmaceutical and related companies, with participation from the US Food and Drug Administration and the European Medicines Agency.

Association members include:

  • Abbott (NYSE: ABT)
  • Allergy Asthma Research Institute
  • Amarin Corp. (NASDAQ: AMRN)
  • Amgen (NASDAQ: AMGN)
  • AstraZeneca (NYSE: AZN)
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb (NYSE: BMY)
  • Forest Laboratories (NYSE: FRX)
  • GlaxoSmithKline (NYSE: GSK)
  • IPS Research Company
  • Johnson & Johnson (NYSE: JNJ)
  • Eli Lilly (NYSE: LLY)
  • McDougall Scientific
  • Merck (NYSE: MRK)
  • MWB Consulting Limited
  • National Notary Association
  • Oxford Outcomes
  • PDC Biotech
  • Pfizer (NYSE: PFE)
  • Premier Inc.
  • Roche
  • St. Renatus
  • Sanofi-Aventis (NYSE: SNY)
  • SNAP Diagnostics

SAFE-BioPharma® is a trademark of SAFE-BioPharma Association. Any use of this trademark requires approval from SAFE-BioPharma Association.