C&L: Wells named Biovail CEO

Biovail has named William Wells, Loblaw Cos. Ltd.'s chief financial officer, as its new chief executive, replacing Douglas Squires, who will become Biovail's chairman.

ARUP Laboratories co-founder Carl R. Kjeldsberg, MD, will retire as chief executive officer at the end of June 2009.

Bioniche Life Sciences announced late last week that its chairman, Hy Isenbaum, has died.

DUSA Pharmaceuticals announced that the role of D. Geoffrey Shulman, MD, chairman of the board and chief strategic officer, is expected to change as a result of a serious health condition.

US Oncology's CFO Rick McCook is resigning to explore opportunities in a retail or manufacturing business.

MannKind Corporation announced that Matthew J. Pfeffer will join the company as corporate vice president and CFO, effective April 21.

Gilead Sciences announced that Robin L. Washington will join the company in May 2008 as senior vice president and chief financial officer.

Medicago announced the return of Pierre Labbé as chief financial officer on a full-time basis. 

Advanced Life Sciences Holdings says that R. Richard Wieland II, executive vice president and chief financial officer, has resigned to pursue other opportunities. 

BioReliance Corporation has named John Ludwig Kolman, PhD, senior director, research and development. 

Eisai has named Robert Laverty to the newly created position of vice president of U.S. communications. 

Speedel has named Dr. Harald Schafer the new head of corporate communications and investor relations. 

Encorium Group announced the resignation of Lawrence R. Hoffman, the company's chief financial officer, effective May 2. 

ProGenTech has made several executive management appointments. They are: Dr. Paul Richardson, vice president for R&D; Dr. Jesus Ching, chief scientist; Sarah Wenning, VP of U.S. operations; Dylan Bird, director of business development; David Hu, VP of engineering. 

Zogenix has named Cynthia "Candy" Robinson as chief development officer and Mark Thompson as vice president, sales and managed markets. 

Addex Pharmaceuticals has named Laurent Massuyeau as head of business development. 

Spherix named Randy Brown as chief of operations. 

Ovation Pharmaceuticals has named Samuel Yonren, M.D. as vice president, patient safety with responsibility for global drug safety for all Ovation products. 

Migenix has appointed Pieter Dorsman to its board of directors. 

VIVUS has named Charles J. Casamento to the board of directors. 

Resolvyx Pharmaceuticals has named Timothy J. Barberich and George M. Milne, Jr., Ph.D, to the board of directors. 

Avexa Ltd has named Nathan Drona a non-executive director of the company. 

Introgen Therapeutics has appointed Robert "Bob" Pearson to its board of directors. 

Edwards Lifesciences announced that Vernon R. Loucks Jr. is retiring from the company's board of directors. 

Oncolin Therapeutics has added Sandra Silberman, M.D., Ph.D. to its Scientific Advisory Board.