C&L: Waddick tapped to run Vasogen

Chris Waddick, MBA, CMA, has been appointed president and CEO of Vasogen, succeeding Terrance Gregg, who will remain as chairman of the board of directors.

Wayne T. Hockmeyer, Ph.D., is retiring as president of MedImmune Ventures. Dr. Hockmeyer, a company founder, is also stepping down as the company's chairman upon AstraZeneca's completion of its tender offer to acquire all outstanding shares of MedImmune common stock.

Vivian Liu has been appointed as CEO of NexMed. Ms. Liu succeeds Richard J. Berman, who was elected by the board to serve as its non-executive chairman.

Nabi Biopharmaceuticals has expanded the role of Dr. Raafat Fahim, senior vice president, research, technical and production operations, to include the new position of COO and general Manager of the Biologics SBU.

Keryx Biopharmaceuticals announced that Ronald C. Renaud, Jr., senior vice president and CFO, will be resigning his position with Keryx effective June 27, 2007. Mark Stier, Keryx's chief accounting officer, will assume responsibilities for all financial functions at Keryx.

Idenix Pharmaceuticals announced the appointment of Ronald C. Renaud, Jr. to the position of CFO.

GATC Biotech has named Dr Marcus Benz as COO.

Enobia Pharma has appointed Hal Landy, MD as the company's VP medical affairs & chief medical officer.

Critical Biologics Corporation has named Richard Straube, MD as chief medical officer.

Anacor Pharmaceuticals has hired Paulette A. Dillon as its chief business officer.

Cequent Pharmaceuticals announced that the co-inventor of the company's tkRNAi technology, Johannes Fruehauf, MD, will head Cequent's scientific leadership team as director of pre-clinical and clinical development. Jens Harborth, PhD, has been named associate director, RNAi research.

Synosia Therapeutics has appointed Michael S. Eison, Ph.D., as the company's new vice president of regulatory affairs.

Oculus Innovative Sciences has appointed Dana Redhair, to the position of vice president of regulatory affairs and quality.

Chip Leveille has been appointed vice president of sales and marketing at Helicos Biosciences and Mark Solakian has been named vice president and general counsel.

Kendle has named Paul Roney, PhD, DABT, and Lisa Jenkins, PhD, as senior regulatory consultants.

Cytovance Biologics has added Michael Faughnan to its sales and business development team.

Ambrilia Biopharma announced that Frederic Porte, a director of the company since January 2007, was appointed as chairman.

Gentium has elected Malcolm Sweeney to the board of directors.

Auxilium Pharmaceuticals announced that Dr. Renato Fuchs has joined its board of directors.

Oragenics announced that Dr. Ronald Evens has been appointed to the board of directors.

SpectraScience has elected John Pappajohn to its board of directors.

Rexahn Pharmaceuticals has named Freddie Ann Hoffman to fill the vacancy on the board of directors created by the expiration of the term of former director Dr. Young Soon Park.

Emergent BioSolutions has named Sue Bailey, M.D., as a Class III director.

Penwest Pharmaceuticals has named James O'Shea to the company's board of directors.

Ardea Biosciences has named John W. Beck, CPA and John Poyhonen, MBA to its board of directors.

Dr. Alex McPherson, former president and CEO of Biomira, has been elected to Carrington Laboratories' board.

PRA has elected Gregory P. Spivy to its board of directors.

Seattle Genetics announced that industry veterans John P. McLaughlin and Daniel G. Welch have joined its board of directors.

Ralph Snyderman has been named to the board of directors of Winston-Salem's Targacept.

Affymax announced that Elizabeth A. Czerepak resigned from its board of directors.