C&L: Una Ryan leaves Avant

Avant Immunotherapeutics today announced the departure of Una Ryan, Ph.D, President and CEO, effective immediately.

Watson Pharmaceuticals announced that co-founder and Chairman Allen Chao has resigned from the board of directors to pursue other business activities. Board member Andrew Turner will become nonexecutive chairman.

Ardea Biosciences has named John Beck senior vice president, finance and operations and chief financial officer.

Encorium Group has appointed Philip Calamia as its interim chief financial officer.

PregLem has named Sven Zimmermann, a biotech analyst at UBS Investment Bank, as its new chief financial officer.

Nucryst Pharmaceuticals revealed the appointment of David Holtz as vice president and chief financial officer.

Kendle has appointed Patricia Williams to the position of vice president, commercial operations.

Adnavance Technologies has appointed Christian P. Valcke, Ph.D., to its scientific advisory board.

Gilead Sciences on Wednesday said that Chief Executive Officer John C. Martin was named chairman of the biotechnology company's board of directors.

Vyteris named John E. Burrows and Susan Guerin to the company's board of directors,

Nventa Biopharmaceuticals Corporation has named John Varian to the company's board of directors.

DOR BioPharma announced that its President and Chief Executive Officer Christopher Schaber, PhD, has joined the board of directors of the Alliance for Biosecurity.

Inovio Biomedical announced that Patrick Gan was elected as the company's eighth director at Inovio's annual general meeting.

Human Genome Sciences announced that John LaMattina, Ph.D., who retired in late 2007 as president of Pfizer Global Research and Development, has been appointed to the HGS board of directors.

Robert Hill has joined the Biothera board of directors.