C&L: Solvay Canada picks Jobson to lead

Solvay Pharma, Canada, has appointed Graham Jobson as president and CEO. Mr. Jobson replaces Dr. Laurence Downey who held the position for six years. Previously, Mr. Jobson was president and CEO of Montreal-based Fournier Pharma.

Aperon Biosystems has appointed Richard A. Lotti as its president CEO. Most recently, he was president and CEO of Converge Medical.

Thomas Tully has been named as its chairman and CEO of IDev Technologies. Before joining IDev, Tully was president and CEO of Neothermia, a medical device company.

Ilypsa has announced the appointment of Jay Shepard as president and CEO. Mr. Shepard will also join the company's board of directors. Prior to joining Ilypsa, Mr. Shepard served as VP of commercial operations at Telik. 

Robert Lippert has been named president and CEO of ZARS Pharma. Mr. Lippert succeeds Larry Rigby, who served as CEO since the company's inception in 1996. Prior to joining ZARS, Mr. Lippert served as president and CEO of ProCertus BioPharm. ZARS also appointed Greg Ayers as CFO. Prior to joining ZARS, Mr. Ayers served as CFO of PhereSys Therapeutics.

Bioscience has named Russell  Herndon as CEO. Prior to joining Antigenics, Russ served as president of Genzyme Tissue Repair, part of Genzyme. 

VLST has appointed Martin Simonetti as president and CEO of VLST. Mr. Simonetti has worked for Dendreon, Amgen and Genentech. Also, Steven Gillis, Ph.D., will join as executive chairman of VLST's board of directors.

Arena Pharmaceuticals has named Robert Hoffman, C.P.A., as CFO. Mr. Hoffman has been with Arena since its founding in 1997 and also serves as Arena's chief accounting officer. 

Susan Kanaya has been appointed to the post of senior VP of finance and CFO of ChemoCentryx. The company also announced the recent appointment of Petrus (Pirow) Bekker M.D., Ph.D., to the position of VP of medical and clinical affairs and the establishment of ChemoCentryx's clinical development and regulatory affairs department. 

Robert Breuil has been named senior VP and CFO of Codexis. Prior to joining Codexis, Mr. Breuil was CFO and VP of corporate development at Aerogen. 

W. Todd Myers, C.P.A., has been named CFO of SGX Pharmaceuticals. The company also appointed Siegfried Reich, Ph.D., as VP of drug discovery. Todd Myers most recently provided senior level financial consulting services to publicly traded and privately held life sciences companies. Prior to joining SGX, Siegfried was head of viral and ophthalmic diseases therapeutic zone in discovery at Pfizer. 

Lifeline Therapeutics has named Gerald ("Jerry") Houston as its CFO. Former CFO William Kutney will consult with the company. Mr. Houston most recently provided financial management consulting to early stage healthcare and biotechnology companies. 

Gerard Wills has joined MultiCell Technology as its CFO. Previously, he served as the CFO for Immusol, a private drug development company in San Diego. 

InNexus Biotechnology has appointed Jeff Morhet as COO. Prior to the appointment, Morhet served as InNexus' VP of operations and interim-COO. Morhet is also serving interim CFO while the company completes its recently launched search for a permanent CFO.  

Pharmaceuticals has named Robert Terifay president and COO. Mr. Terifay most recently served as the commercial leader on the executive management team of Synta Pharmaceuticals. 

Isotechnika has appointed Dr. Launa Aspeslet, RAC as COO. Most recently, Dr. Aspeslet held the position of senior VP of regulatory affairs. 

Columbia Laboratories has promoted Robert Mills to president and COO, and elected to the board of directors. Michael McGrane has also been promoted to senior VP, general counsel and secretary. Previously, Mr. Mills served as senior VP of manufacturing operations at Watson Pharmaceuticals and general manager of Schein Pharmaceuticals. Columbia also announced the resignation of president and CEO Fred Wilkinson. He joined Columbia from the Liposome Company. 

David Lockhart, Ph.D. has been named chief scientific officer of Therapeutics. Prior to joining Therapeutics, Dr. Lockhart served as president and chief scientific officer of Ambit Biosciences.

Matthew Wikler, M.D., M.B.A., F.I.D.S.A., has joined Mpex Pharmaceuticals as chief medical officer. Dr. Wikler was most recently the chief medical officer and executive VP at Peninsula Pharmaceuticals, acquired by J&J.

IDM Pharma president and chief business officer Dr. Emile Loria has left the company to pursue other interests. Dr. Loria was previously president and CEO of Epimmune.

Epigenomics has named Dr. Michael Wandell as senior VP for clinical, regulatory and quality. The company has also appointed James Douglas as senior VP of marketing and sales to its senior management team. 

ImClone Systems has named Cheryl Anderson VP of regulatory affairs. Ms. Anderson has previously worked for Bayer, Aventis and Bristol-Myers Squibb. 

Kosan Biosciences today announced that it has named Albert Kraus, Ph.D. as VP of regulatory affairs. Most recently, Mr. Kraus was group director of Global Regulatory Strategy, Oncology with Bristol-Myers Squibb. 

Steven I. Engel, M.S., Pharm. D., has been appointed to the position of senior VP of regulatory affairs and quality at Boston Life Sciences. Before joining the company, Dr. Engel was VP of regulatory affairs and quality at AlgoRx. 

ACADIA Pharmaceuticals has named David Furlano, Ph.D., as VP of regulatory affairs. Dr. Furlano joins ACADIA from Vical, where he served as executive director of regulatory affairs. 

Metabasis Therapeutics today announced the addition of Howard Foyt, M.D., Ph.D. as VP of clinical development, R. Wayne Frost, Pharm.D., JD as VP of regulatory affairs and quality assurance, and Jeff Jensen as senior director of clinical operations. 

Paul Cleveland has been named CFO and executive VP of corporate development for Affymax. The company has also appointed Christopher Dammann as VP of business development. 

Chronogen has appointed Dr. Jean-Marie Houle as VP of research and development. Prior to joining Chronogen, Houle worked for QLT. 

Genentech has promoted three senior VPs to executive VPs. Ian Clark, commercial operations, David Ebersman, CFO, and Patrick Yang, Ph.D., product operations, were all promoted to executive VPs.

BioAlliance Pharma has named Francois Sarkozy, MD, DEA, MBA, vice-chairman and independent member of its supervisory board. Dr. Sarkozy is currently a managing partner of AEC Partners, a Paris-based healthcare consultancy. 

Former HHS Secretary Tommy Thompson has joined Afacell as a special adviser. Secretary Thompson will chair the newly-created Alfacell Business Policy Committee, which will focus on advancing and executing strategies associated with areas such as finance, government relations, and regulatory affairs, as well as corporate governance and development.

BSD Medical has appointed Steven Stewart as a member of the company's board of directors. J. Gordon Short has resigned from the board. In addition to being a member of the board, Stewart will serve as financial expert for the board and as chairman of the audit committee. 

Endo Pharmaceuticals has appointed John Delucca to its board of directors. Delucca also will be a member of Endo's audit committee.

Jonathan Spicehandler, M.D., has been named to Keryx Biopharmaceuticals board of directors. He is also currently the chairman of Schering-Plough Research Institute. 

David F. Rivers has joined NanoLogix's board of directors. He is also currently the CEO of the Patriot Lift Company, which he joined after spending 34 years with Pfizer.

BD&L Summit

Deal-Making Insights for the Life Sciences Industry

Bringing together key deal-makers and serving as an open forum for cross-functional business development and legal teams to share valuable insights and actionable strategies on successfully managing alliances, licensing agreements, and M&A deals.