C&L: Sanofi-Aventis names new CEO

Sanofi-Aventis has split the post of chairman and CEO and named research director Gerard Le Fur as its new CEO.

Patrick K. Donnelly has resigned as director, president and CEO of PRA International. He will remain an outside consultant to PRA's board for 18 months. The company also announced the appointment of Melvin D. Booth as chairman of the board of directors. Jean-Pierre Conte will continue to serve as a director.

Jason Theodosiou has been appointed CEO of Aureus Pharma. Theodosiou will replace Andre Michel, founder of Aureus who has been appointed to chairman of the supervisory board.

Adolor Corporation has named Michael R. Dougherty, the company's current senior vice president and COO, president and CEO and a member of the board of directors.

Advaxis has named Thomas A. Moore to serve as CEO and chairman.

Pfizer announced that CEO Jeffrey B. Kindler will also become chairman three months ahead of schedule.

Millennium Pharmaceuticals announced that R&D President Bob Tepper, M.D., is leaving the company in the first quarter of 2007.

Dendreon Corporation has hired Gregory T. Schiffman as senior vice president and CFO.

Receptor BioLogix announced that the following people have joined the company's management team: Janet I. Swearson was named CFO; Guy M. Gammon was appointed chief medical officer; Douglas J. Kawahara, Ph.D., was named vice president of business development, and David Lilienfeld, M.D., M.P.H., was appointed senior director, regulatory and clinical affairs.

Zila said its CFO, Andrew Stevens, has resigned.

Affymetrix has appointed Kevin M. King to president of life sciences business and executive vice president.

PharmaNet Development Group announced that Mark Di Ianni has been appointed president, early stage development.

Bruce A. Leicher, J.D., joined Altus Pharmaceuticals as senior vice president, general counsel and secretary.

Pablo J. Cagnoni, M.D. has been promoted to vice president and chief medical officer of OSI Pharmaceuticals.

Aastrom Biosciences announced that Sheldon A. Schaffer, Ph.D. has joined the company as vice president, corporate development and intellectual property, a newly created position.

Quantum Genomics has appointed Fabrice Balavoine as head of research.

IDEXX Laboratories has named Irene Kerr corporate vice president for worldwide operations.

Codexis announced that Andrea R. Danforth has been named to the new position of vice president, human resources.

Averion International has named Howard G. Goldsweig, MD as medical director of the company's oncology division, Millennix Oncology.

Xechem International has appointed Iretiolu Oniyide Managing Director of its Xechem Pharmaceuticals Nigeria Ltd. subsidiary

Transgene has assembled a Scientific Advisory Board with Brigitte Autran, M.D., Ph.D. and others.

Poniard Pharmaceuticals has formed a clinical advisory board. The board includes Paul J. Bunn, Jr., M.D., a lung cancer specialist at the University of Colorado Cancer Center; Richard M. Goldberg, M.D., a colorectal cancer expert at the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; and Eric J. Small, M.D., a prostate cancer expert at the University of California, San Francisco.

Stem Cell Sciences has named David A. Dodd non-executive chairman with Michael Dexter stepping down to become a non-executive director.

CoGenesys has elected David U'Prichard, Ph.D., to the company's board of directors.

SIGA Technologies announced that Scott M. Hammer, M.D. was elected to serve on its board of directors.

Boqing Zhang has been named to the board of directors of American Oriental Bioengineering.

DURECT Corporation announced that Terrence F. Blaschke, M.D. has joined its board of directors.

Anika Therapeutics has appointed John C. Moran as a new independent director.

LigoCyte Pharmaceuticals has elected Dr. J. Donald deBethizy to the company's board of directors.

inVentiv Health has named Craig Saxton, M.D. to its board of directors.