C&L: Papa named CEO of Perrigo

The Perrigo Company has elected Joseph C. Papa as its president and CEO. Papa will succeed David T. Gibbons who held these positions at Perrigo for the last six years. Gibbons will continue to serve as executive chairman of the Board.

Immucor announced the retirement of Edward L. Gallup as CEO and the election of Dr. Gioacchino (Nino) De Chirico as his successor in that position.

Adventrx Pharmaceuticals has named James A. Merritt president and announced the resignation of CFO Carrie Carlander.

Forest Laboratories announced that Lawrence S. Olanoff has been named president and COO.

Baxter International announced that Peter Nicklin has been named corporate vice president of Baxter World Trade Corporation and president of Baxter Europe.

ExonHit Therapeutics named John Jaskowiak as executive vice president, business and marketing.

Valeritas has hired John E. Timberlake to serve as executive vice president and general manager for metabolism.

Accelrys,has named Rick Russo senior vice president and CFO.

Charles W. Gorodetzky M.D., Ph.D. has been appointed as Catalyst Pharmaceutical's chief medical officer and M. Douglas Winship has been appointed as Catalyst's vice president of regulatory operations. 

Bentley Pharmaceuticals has named Richard P. Lindsay as vice president and chief financial officer.

DURECT Corporation named Matthew J. Hogan as its new CFO.

Sirtris Pharmaceuticals has hired Mike Jirousek, Ph.D. as senior vice president of research.

Advanced Magnetics has named Louis Brenner, MD as senior vice president and Mohammed A. Salem, PhD as vice president of regulatory affairs.

Transition Therapeutics has named Dr. Andre Uddin as vice-president of strategic development.

PAREXEL Consulting has expanded its risk management and strategic compliance expertise with the appointment of Anthony C. Warchut.

Integrium has promoted Richard Caroddo to director of business development.

Garrett A. Screws, Jr. has been named manager of US governmental relations for Novozymes.

PRA International has named Kent Thoelke vice president and head of global product development services.

Amid the turmoil of Peter Dolan's departure at BMS, the company elected Sanders Williams to the board. Williams was appointed to the newly-formed Science and Technology Committee.

NeoMatrix has appointed Kathryn Tunstall as chairman of the board of directors.

Keith E. Brauer, former vice president of finance and chief financial officer for Guidant Corp., has joined the Endocyte board of directors.

Cougar Biotechnology has named Russell H. Ellison, M.D., MSc, to the company's board of directors. 

Advaxis has appointed Thomas A. Moore to its board.

Protagen has added Michael Motschmann and Gerhard Steinkamp to its board. 

GenVec announced that Stelios Papadopoulos is leaving its board.

BioGenex has named Raymond W. Cohen to its board.

Raptor Pharmaceuticals has established a medical and scientific advisory board. They are: William Mobley, M.D., Ph.D., Guojun Bu, Ph.D., Rivka Sherman-Gold, Ph.D., and Sam Teichman, M.D.

CeNeS Pharmaceuticals has appointed has appointed Professor Robert Sneyd and Professor Peter Glass to its scientific advisory board.