C&L: Olanoff tapped to run Celsion

Dr. Lawrence Olanoff has been picked as president, CEO and a member of the board of directors of Celsion. Dr. Augustine Y. Cheung, Celsion's current president and CEO, will continue as chief scientific officer and a member of the board of directors. Dr. Olanoff joined Forest Laboratories in 1995 as vice president--scientific affairs and has been executive vice president--scientific affairs since December 1998.

Axcan Pharma has named Frank Verwiel, MD, as president and CEO. He will also become a member of the Axcan board of directors. Leon F. Gosselin, founder of Axcan and the company's outgoing president and CEO, will continue to serve as chairman of the board. Dr. Verwiel most recently held the position of vice president, hypertension, worldwide human health marketing with Merck.

BioProgress has appointed Richard Trevillion as CEO. Trevillion joined the board as a non-executive director in February 2005 and became interim CEO at the end of April.

Amrad chairman Bob Moses has announced his retirement and managing director Peter Smith resigned this week as well. The resignations come after the recent appointments of Ian Davis and James MacKenzie to the board.

Mylan Laboratories has named Hal Korman to the position of president of Mylan Pharmaceuticals, the company's generic subsidiary. He most recently has been serving as president of UDL Laboratories, Mylan's subsidiary that manufactures and markets unit dose pharmaceutical products.

Joseph Dowling has been hired as MediVas' executive vice president and CFO. Dowling has been a Managing Director in Citigroup's middle market corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions team for the last eight years.

Steve Martin, director of finance at Stratagene, will succeed Reg Jones as CFO.

OccuLogix has appointed John Y. Caloz as the company's CFO and treasurer. Caloz succeeds William (Bill) G. Dumencu who will remain with the company as VP, Finance.

Auxilium Pharmaceuticals has named James E. Fickenscher as its CFO. He replaces Neil Lansing, who is leaving the company for personal reasons. Fickenscher had been with Aventis Berhing, a unit of Australia's CSL.

David Boyle, vice president of financial operations at Xoma, has been named CFO. Peter Davis, CFO since 1994, is retiring.

Ivan Gergel, MD, has been promoted to senior vice president -- scientific affairs and president of the Forest Research Institute. Dr. Gergel had previously been vice president and chief medical officer at Forest Laboratories and executive vice president of the Forest Research Institute.

ProEthic Pharmaceuticals announced that Tom McLean, a 27-year veteran of SmithKline Pharmaceuticals, has been named vice president of sales.

Louis C. Arp has been hired as vice president of production operations at Eisai's pharmaceutical production and formulation research and development facility in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. Arp joined Eisai from OSG Norwich Pharmaceuticals, where he served as President.

Nabi Biopharmaceuticals has hired Stephan E. Lawton as vice president, government relations. Most recently, he served as vice president and general counsel for the Biotechnology Industry Organization.

Claude Lambert, vice-president, finance and administration, announced that he is leaving ProMetic Life Sciences to pursue other challenges and is being replaced by Stephane Archambault, currently corporate controller. Vincent Taillefer and Janis Peleshok joined the company as, respectively, vice-president, corporate development and director, business development.

Momenta Pharmaceuticals has hired Barbara Rosengren as vice president, strategic product development. Rosengren's most recent experience includes Millennium Pharmaceuticals, where she was vice president and product development leader.

Russell W. Bradley has been named vice president, business development and strategic planning at Luminex. He served most recently as director of Beckman Coulter CARES Initiative and previously as director of market and commercial development for Beckman Coulter.

Nuvelo has named Michael A. Fleming as vice president, commercial operations. Fleming joins Nuvelo from Genentech, where he held a senior position in their commercial organization.

ClinPro has appointed Jeffrey Yablon as director, business development, Matthew Stannard as senior manager of business development and Linda Brown as senior project manager.

Ferdinand Verdonck has joined Galapagos as an independent director, while Harrold van Barlingen has joined as a dependent director.

Dan R. Littman, MD, PhD, and James D. Marks, MD, PhD, have joined the scientific advisory board of Merrimack Pharmaceuticals.

Inhibitex has elected A. Keith Willard to its board of directors. Willard currently serves as chairman of the board of Christiana Care Health System, a not-for-profit healthcare provider.

Louis J. Lavigne, Jr., former executive vice president and CFO of Genentech has been appointed to Allergan's board of directors.

Vaughn M. Kailian has been elected to Cephalon's board of directors.

Suggested Articles

Robertson, M.D., who led global development teams within Shire’s neuroscience division, is now Yumanity Therapeutics’ chief medical officer.

Novo Nordisk and Dicerna are teaming up on liver-related diseases, including nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), to the tune of $225 million.

After announcing it was slashing scores of jobs, Alkermes is now willing to put down nearly $1 billion to buy out CNS biotech Rodin Therapeutics.