C&L: Gregg takes reins at Vasogen

Terrance H. Gregg has succeeded David G. Elsley as president and CEO of Vasogen.

Richard Pops is ending his long tenure as CEO of Alkermes and will become chairman of the company at the end of the month. Alkermes recorded its first profit last year after 18 years in the red.

John F. Crowley has returned to his role as president and CEO of Amicus Therapeutics after a six-month active duty military obligation with the United States Navy.

Oncologic has named Stephen Isaacs president and CEO. Isaacs succeeds Roy K. Skogstrom, 51, who will become a consultant to the company and will remain as a director.

Adrian Adams has been appointed president and COO and W. James O'Shea has been appointed to the newly-created position of vice chairman of Sepracor.

NeoPharm announced that CFO Ronald Pauli will resign effective March 21 to pursue other opportunities.

Tercica has appointed Richard A. King as COO.

Acusphere has promoted Howard Bernstein, M.D., Ph.D. to executive vice president of research and development; Donald Chickering, Ph.D. has been promoted to vice president of technical operations; and Julie Straub, Ph.D. has been promoted to executive director of research.

Darryle Schoepp has been named senior vice president and franchise head of neuroscience at Merck after spending 20 years in neuroscience discovery research at Eli Lilly.

Auriga Laboratories has promoted its senior vice president of scientific affairs, Alan Roberts, to the position of chief scientific officer.

Stem Cell Innovations announced Ian Lyons, Ph.D., has been appointed chief scientific officer, U.S. Dr. Lyons joins Helmuth van Es, Ph.D., chief scientific officer, Europe, as co-leader of Stem Cell Innovation's scientific programs.

Cortex Pharmaceuticals has named Les Street, Ph.D., head of medicinal chemistry and Steven A. Johnson, Ph.D., VP of pre-clinical development, has been appointed an officer of Cortex by the Cortex board of directors.

Protein Discovery has hired Peter Osucha for the position of vice president of engineering.

The Pittsburgh Life Sciences Greenhouse announced that executive-in-residence James Jordan has been appointed to the position of vice president and chief investment officer.

Alba Therapeutics Corporation today announced the appointment of Linda M. Arterburn, Ph.D. as its senior director, In Vivo Pharmacology & Toxicology.

DaVita announced that Charles G. Berg, the former CEO of Oxford Health Plans, has joined its board of directors.

International Stem Cell Corporation announced that Don Wright has joined its board of directors.

NextBio today announced that Dr. David L. Barker, recently retired chief scientific officer of Illumina, has joined its board of directors.

Transgenomic has accepted Roland J Santoni's resignation as a member of the board of directors. Rodney S. Markin, M.D., Ph.D., has been named to fill the vacancy created by Mr. Santoni's resignation.

Osta Biotechnologies has named Dr. Moulay Alaoui-Jamali to its Scientific Advisory Board.

SensiGen has named Dr. Nicholas A. Kefalides to its Scientific Advisory Board.

Dr. Deepak Srivastava has joined RegeneRx's Medical and Scientific Advisory Board and will become a consultant to the company.

Invitrogen Corporation announced that Per Peterson, M.D., Ph.D. has been appointed to its board of directors.

Ligand Pharmaceuticals has named John L. Higgins, David M. Knott, Elizabeth M. Greetham and Todd C. Davis to its board of directors.

Hana Biosciences has named Lyn Wiesinger to its board of directors.