C&L: Endo CEO hits the exit

Endo Chief Executive Peter Lankau said he plans to leave the developer, three years after getting the job.

Meridian Bioscience has promoted Jack Kraeutler to chief executive officer.

Barrier Therapeutics announced that Alfred Altomari, the chief operating officer of the company, will succeed Geert Cauwenbergh, founder and CEO, on March 31, 2008. Cauwenbergh will continue to serve on the board of directors.

Shawn Patrick O'Brien has been named as the new chief executive of Profectus BioSciences. Donald R. Caldwell as its new chairman.

Lentigen has hired Tim Ravenscroft as chief executive, while founder and former Chief Executive Boro Dropulic stays on as president and chief scientific officer.

Gloucester Pharmaceuticals has appointed Alan Colowick, M.D. M.P.H. as chief executive officer and as a member of the company's board. The company also announced that Jean Nichols, Ph.D. has been promoted to president and chief operating officer. In addition, Donald Hayden, formerly executive vice president and president, Americas, at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, has been named chairman of Gloucester's board of directors.

James Merritt is out as president and CMO of Adventrx Pharmaceuticals. CEO Evan Levine has assumed the president's title as well and Joachim Schupp takes over Merritt's clinical responsibilities.

MicroIslet announced that Jonathan Lakey, Ph.D. is no longer the company's president and chief scientific officer. Lakey remains a member of the board of directors.

China's 3SBio has named Kevin Teo to the position of chief financial officer.

Calibrant Biosystems has named Dr. Brian Balgley as its chief technology officer.

Genetix Group has named Jerry Williamson as president of U.S. operations.

KaloBios Pharmaceuticals has made two new additions to its senior management team. Carol Stratford, Ph.D., J.D., joins KaloBios as general counsel and head of intellectual property. Charles Democko joins the company as vice president, regulatory affairs and quality.

Cylene Pharmaceuticals has appointed Dr. Kenna Anderes to serve as vice president of cancer biology.

Allos Therapeutics has appointed Bruce Bennett as vice president, manufacturing.

BioMarin Pharmaceutical has named Dr. Gordon Vehar as vice president of research.

ZyGEM Corp. has named Susan Barker as vice president of business development. 

Hana Biosciences has promoted Christopher Salentine, Ph.D. to vice president, manufacturing. The company also announced the departure of Fred Vitale, vice president and chief business officer.

KaloBios Pharmaceuticals has elected Denise Gilbert, Ph.D. to the board of directors.

Arura Pharma has appointed Jean-Marie Pomerleau, chartered accountant, as chief financial officer.

PolyMedix has appointed Brian Anderson to its board of directors.

Nile Therapeutics has named Gregory Schafer to its board of directors and as chairman of the audit committee. 

Ceragenix Pharmaceuticals announced that Michael Niederman MD, FACP, FCCP, FCCM has joined its scientific advisory board.

Arrowhead Research has named Dr. Mauro Ferrari to its newly established board of scientific strategy.