C&L: Cipau takes helm at Phase Bioscience

Phase Bioscience has named Gabriel Cipau, M.B.A., Ph.D. as CEO and chairman of the board of directors and Cindy Clark, J.D. as president and chief business officer. Dr. Cipau is a partner with Key Partner Consulting. 

Dr. Jonas Alsenas has stepped down as CEO and as a director of Prana Biotechnology to pursue "other opportunities." 

John L. McManus has joined Aeolus Pharmaceuticals as president. McManus is the founder and president of McManus Financial Consultants. 

Michael R. Minogue, president and CEO of Abiomed, has assumed the additional position of chairman of the board of directors. 

ImClone Systems has named board member David Sidransky as vice chairman. 

Millenia Hope announced the resignation of its vice-chairman of the board, Dr. Alex Kavic, for personal reasons. 

Aastrom Biosciences has named Gerald "Jerry" D. Brennan, Jr., JD, as vice president of administrative and financial operations and chief financial officer. Brennan will assume his position with the company effective July 2, 2005, following the retirement of Alan M. Wright. He will come to the company from Great Lakes Chemical Corporation, where he serves as director of new ventures. 

Pharmacopeia Drug Discovery has hired Michio "Mich" Soga as executive vice president and CFO. He has held various executive positions at Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, and Credit Agricole Indosuez in New York, Tokyo and London. 

Neurogen Corporation has appointed Stephen Uden, MB to the newly created position of executive vice president, head of research and development. Dr. Uden was vice president, development site head for Pfizer Global Research & Development in New London, Connecticut. 

MacroGenics announced the addition of R. Nelson Campbell and Ronald L. Wilder, M.D., Ph.D. to the company's senior management team, as well as the promotions of Ezio Bonvini, M.D. and Joseph Panigot

CancerVax has promoted Martin A. Mattingly, Pharm. D., to executive vice president and chief operating officer; Hazel M. Aker, J.D., to senior vice president, regulatory operations and legal affairs; and Carol G. Gallagher, Pharm. D., to vice president, sales, marketing and product planning. John Petricciani, M.D., will continue to serve as senior vice president, medical and regulatory affairs, focusing on the company's strategic regulatory direction and interactions with regulatory authorities.

Vitae Pharmaceuticals has hired Martin Freed, M.D., as chief medical officer. Dr. Freed spent nearly fourteen years with GlaxoSmithKline and its predecessor, SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals, most recently as vice president, clinical, in the company's Metabolism Therapeutic Area.

Trimeris has hired Neil Graham, M.D., as chief medical officer and senior vice president of clinical development and medical affairs. Dr. Graham previously served as chief medical officer for XTL Biopharmaceuticals.

AdipoGenix has appointed Nils Bergenhem, Ph.D. as chief scientific officer. Before joining AdipoGenix, Dr. Bergenhem was vice president of research at the Institute for Diabetes Discovery.

Diane E. Paul, MS, RN, has joined National Comprehensive Cancer Network as vice president, clinical trials network. Before rejoining NCCN, Paul served as executive director of the Cancer Institute of New Jersey Oncology Group and director of the Cancer Institute of New Jersey Network at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey in New Brunswick, New Jersey.

Pozen has appointed Lisa Zimmerman to the newly created position of vice president, quality assurance. Zimmerman was most recently employed at Duke Clinical Research Institute as director of quality assurance and regulatory compliance.

Carl Pelzel has joined Depomed's executive team as vice president, marketing and commercial development. Pelzel was most recently senior vice president, global commercial operations at Chiron.

Advanced Cell Technology has made the following appointments to its scientific team: David Larocca, Ph.D., James T. Murai, Ph.D and R. Geoffrey Sargent, Ph.D.

Tanox has appointed Julia R. Brown to its board of directors. 

Carol Ferguson has been appointed as a non-executive director and as chair of the audit committee of Ardana.

CuraGen has named Michael J. Astrue, J.D. and Frank M. Armstrong, M.B., Ch.B. to its board of directors.

Hybridon has elected Robert W. Karr, M.D. to the company's board of directors.

Luminex Corporation has appointed J. Stark Thompson to the board of directors to serve as a Class III director.

Sunesis Pharmaceuticals announced that Matthew Fust, senior vice president and CFO of Jazz Pharmaceuticals, will be joining Sunesis' board of directors.