C&L: Burger abruptly resigns from AVI

Denis R. Burger, PhD, the chairman and CEO of AVI BioPharma, has turned in his resignation, which is effective immediately. Jack L. Bowman, an independent director, has been named chairman and independent director K. Michael Forrest will take over as interim CEO. No specific reason was given for the resignation.

NeoPharm has named Laurence P. Birch to the position of president and CEO of the company, replacing Guillermo A. Herrera, who is no longer employed by NeoPharm.

AEterna Zentaris has named David J. Mazzo, Ph.D. president and CEO.

Gene Logic has elected Charles L. Dimmler, III, to serve as president and CEO.

Chemokine Therapeutics has appointed C. Richard Piazza as its new CEO.

Sapphire Therapeutics has promoted William J. Polvino, MD, from executive vice president to president and CEO.

Tripos Discovery Informatics announced that Jim Hopkins has been named CEO of the newly private company.

Leonard Cox has resigned as Protox Therapeutics' CFO to pursue other opportunities and David Swetlow has joined the company as vice president, finance and operations.

Cindy Cullen, associate director of digital certificate services, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, has been named chief technology officer, SAFE-BioPharma Association.

C. Robert "Bob" Eaton has resigned his post as president of MdBio. Julie Coons will lead the biotech organization until a permanent replacement is found.

Point Therapeutics announced that Dr. Margaret Uprichard, senior vice president and chief development officer, has resigned from the company.

Bradmer Pharmaceuticals has appointed Jean Bourgouin, M.D., as vice president of medical affairs.

EpiCept Corporation has named Stephane Allard, M.D. as the company's new chief medical officer.

Genstruct has named Christian Reich, M.D., Ph.D. vice president of scientific research.

Timothy Axtelle has been appointed as vice president, research and development of Implicit Bioscience.

AXM Pharma has appointed Wang Wenxiu as general manager of AXM Pharma (Shenyang), Mei Shengliang, general manager of sales & marketing, Han Aiguo as vice general manager and Jiao Yu, vice general manager.

Prana Biotechnology has appointed Professor Jeffrey L. Cummings, MD, as chairman of its new Research & Development Advisory Board.

PhytoMedical Technologies has added Dr. Mark A. Bossie its Scientific Advisory Board.

Akesis Pharmaceuticals has added Michael C. Scaife, Ph.D. to its scientific advisory board.

Larry E. Drumm has accepted a position on IBC's scientific advisory board as well as new business development consulting.

VaxGen announced that Eve E. Slater, M.D., F.A.C.C, will resign from the company's board of directors as a result of having accepted a management position at another company.

Benda Pharmaceutical has appointed Dr. Q.Y. Ma and Eric Yu to its board of directors.

China Aoxing appointed three new independent directors: Richard Wm Talley, Joseph J. Levinson and Zhongshun Qiao.

David B. Zenoff has been appointed to Depomed's board of directors.