C&L: Benattia new Wyeth R&D EVP

Wyeth Consumer Healthcare announced that Isma Benattia, MD, has been named executive vice president, global research and development.

Patheon has named Terry Novak as president, North American Operations and chief marketing officer.

AM-Pharma B.V has named Jacques Arend vice president of clinical development.

Aastrom Biosciences announced that Gerald D. Brennan, Jr., vice president, administrative & financial operations and chief financial officer, has announced his intention to retire.

Chakshu Research announced that Dr. Ira Wong, M.D., will serve as medical director for their upcoming clinical trials.

MacuSight has named Joel Naor, M.D., M.Sc., MBA, as the company's chief medical officer.

Keryx Biopharma has appointed Lou DeBergalis as vice president, quality operations. Keryx also announced that Eric Grossman would join the company later this month as vice president, medical affairs.

Laureate Pharma has named Gary Swan as vice president of operations.

Sigma-Aldrich has hired Helge Bastian as vice president of global marketing for its Research Biotech business unit.

Abid Rawn had joined Depomed as vice president of sales and marketing.

Novo Nordisk has appointed Pamela Harris as vice president for diabetes sales, managed care and government accounts.

Speedel Holding announced that its director of communications and investor relations, Nick Miles, is leaving the company.

ClinPhone has appointed Paula McHale as director of product management, data management solutions.

Javelin Pharmaceuticals recently voted to increase the size of the board from seven members to eight and elected Peter Kiernan, III, to fill the newly created directorship.

Eli Lilly has named Michael Eskew, former chairman and chief executive of United Parcel Service, to its board.

Spheris announced the election of Tenno Tsai to its board of directors.

Accipiter Life Sciences Fund LP has nominated a slate of three independent directors for election to the board of Penwest Pharmaceuticals at the company's annual meeting. The nominees are Gabe Hoffman, David Lohman and Eugene Davis.

3SBio Inc. has elected Mingde Yu as an independent director to replace Guanjin Hu.

Inovio Biomedical has appointed Stephen Rietiker, MD, as the company's seventh director.

Kythera Biopharmaceuticals has named Joseph Turner to its board of directors.