BIO Elects New Chair, Officers, and Board Members

CHICAGO--(BUSINESS WIRE)--The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) is pleased to announce the election of Rachel King, President and CEO, GlycoMimetics, Inc, as the new Chair of its Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 term, and the election of David Pyott, Chairman, President, & CEO, Allergan, Inc., as its new Board Secretary. BIO also is pleased to announce the re-election of Mark Skaletsky, Chairman & CEO, Fenway Pharmaceuticals, Inc., as Board Treasurer, and the election of 19 Directors to serve on BIO's Board Executive Committee for the new term. In addition, BIO welcomes the election of eight new members to its Board of Directors, voted upon at this year's 2013 BIO International Convention.

"Rachel King brings a depth of industry experience and passion for advocacy that will serve BIO and its members well," said Jim Greenwood, BIO President & CEO. "I look forward to working closely with Rachel and our newly-constituted Board of Directors in the years to come."

Mrs. King formerly served as Vice Chair of the Health Section Governing Board, as well as on the Executive Committee, and is a former Chair of the Emerging Companies Section Governing Board.

Greenwood added, "I also welcome our new Board members and know that the contributions they will make to both the industry and within BIO will be substantial. The new Directors bring a wealth of expertise and diversity in experience that will help contribute to the continued growth of BIO as a membership organization."

Greenwood also thanked BIO's departing Board members. "BIO is deeply appreciative to departing Board members for their service," said Greenwood. "I want to especially thank our outgoing Board Chairman, Tom Watkins, for his dedication and valuable service to BIO. Tom knows first-hand what it takes to successfully innovate in today's financial and regulatory climate, and during his tenure as Chairman, he worked diligently to improve the policy environment for our member companies," said Greenwood.

Members of the Executive Committee of BIO's Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 term are:

Mark Skaletsky, Chairman & CEO, Fenway Pharmaceuticals – Board Treasurer
David Pyott, Chairman, President, & CEO, Allergan – Board Secretary
Ron Cohen, President & CEO, Acorda Therapeutics – Health Section Vice Chair
Adam Monroe, President, Novozymes North America, Novozymes– Industrial & Environmental Section (IES) Governing Board Chair
Rick Eno, President & CEO, Metabolix – IES Governing Board Vice Chair
Paul Hastings, President & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals – Emerging Companies Section (ECS) Governing Board Chair
John Maraganore, Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals – ECS Governing Board Vice Chair
Gerald Steiner, Executive Vice President, Sustainability & Corporate Affairs, Monsanto – Food & Agriculture Section (FAS) Governing Board Chair
Neal Gutterson, President & CEO, Mendel Biotechnology – FAS Governing Board Vice Chair
H. Thomas Watkins, (former) Human Genome Sciences/GlaxoSmithKline – Immediate Past Chair
Ian Clark, CEO & Head North American Commercial Operations Genentech/Roche – At-Large
Deborah Dunsire, President & CEO, Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company – At-Large
Geno Germano, President and General Manager of Speciality Care and Oncology, Pfizer – At-Large
Perry Karsen, Chief Operations Officer, Celgene – At-Large
Jonathan Peacock, Executive Vice President & CEO, Amgen – At-Large
Richard Pops, Chairman & CEO, Alkermes – At-Large
Jay Siegel, Chief Biotechnology Officer & Head, Global Regulatory Affairs, Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Johnson & Johnson – At-Large
Steve Sherwin – Chair Emeritus
The full BIO Board of Directors is comprised of the elected Directors serving on each of BIO's Section Governing Boards. The newly-elected Board Members from these Sections are:

Health Section Governing Board

Adrian Adams, President and CEO, Auxilium Pharmaceuticals
Stuart Arbuckle, Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Alex M. Azar, III, President, Lilly USA, Eli Lilly & Co.
Roch Doliveux, Chairman of the Executive Committee & CEO, UCB
William Fitzsimmons, Divisional Executive Vice President for Global Regulatory Affairs and Global Clinical and Research Quality Assurance, Astellas Pharma US
Paul Hudson, Executive Vice President, North America, AstraZeneca, PLC
Frank Verwiel, President & CEO, Aptalis Pharma
Emerging Companies Section Governing Board

Andrew Hindman, President & CEO, Tobira Therapeutics
Martin Babler, Chief Executive Officer, Principia Bio
About BIO

BIO represents more than 1,100 biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO International Convention, the world's largest gathering of the biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and partnering meetings held around the world. BIO produces BIOtechNOW, an online portal and monthly newsletter chronicling "innovations transforming our world." Subscribe to BIOtechNOW.

Upcoming BIO Events

BIO International Convention
April 22 – 25, 2013
Chicago, IL

World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology
June 16-19, 2013
Montreal, Canada

BIO IPCC Conference
November 6-8, 2013
Washington, DC

Pacific Rim Summit on Industrial Biotechnology & Bioenergy
December 8-11, 2013
San Diego, CA


Biotechnology Industry Organization
Tracy Cooley, APR
Twitter: @IAmBiotech